Batch Color Adjust Photos

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Altemose, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #1
    At school, I use my PowerMac G5 to import all of the photos from our five cameras, disks, Dropbox links, etc. into our Dropbox. Once there, the photos sync to all of the other computers in the yearbook room for viewing and backup purposes over LAN. I then sort out the photos into folders and bring them into Preview and adjust the color using the auto adjustment button and occasionally use the other adjustment tools. Is there a PowerPC program available that won't crash when doing this to over 100 photos and will also allow me to batch select and do these actions rather than selecting each photo in Preview (on the sidebar), adjusting, and saving?
     
  2. CYB3RBYTE macrumors regular

    CYB3RBYTE

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Location:
    Midwest
    #2
    This sounds to me like something that Adobe Bridge is for... but I don't even know if they made any type of version for PPC, even for a G5.

    I will try and do some research into it, but the real person to ask would be eyoungren!
     
  3. yassi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #3
    Hi,

    you can do it with GraphicConverter (they still have a PPC Version), check here: http://www.lemkesoft.de/en/products/
    It's one of the "must have" programms.

    ----------

    Hi,

    there was a PPC Version of Bridge too.
    I have one (but not using it) with Photoshop Elements 6 on my G5.

    Best
     
  4. Altemose thread starter macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4

    I will have a look at this program. Isn't Bridge included in CS2? If so then I already have it installed.
     
  5. vlark, Oct 22, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014

    vlark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #5
  6. Altemose thread starter macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
  7. vlark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #7
    Yeah, there is. You can apply a ColorSync profile or you can apply a Quartz Filter, but you have to specify the settings ahead of time in the workflow itself.
     
  8. Altemose thread starter macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8

    That's the problem. Preview adjusts to the image where as this uses fixed settings.
     
  9. n0cus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #9
    You might want to use something like rawtherapee. Unfortunately it is only PPC compatible via Linux, however, you might be able to get it working via MacPorts or something.
     
  10. Altemose thread starter macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    I will check it out. I don't know if that does exactly what I need though!
     
  11. n0cus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #11
    If I under stood correctly, you are trying to edit 100+ photos using the same color correction, right? If that is what you are looking to do, this will do it for you. For the record it edits both RAW and JPEG files along with other formats.
     
  12. Altemose thread starter macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12

    Actually, I just need the colors to adjust properly for each photo individually. In Preview, each photo gets individual adjustment.
     
  13. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #13
    This is the sort of thing that Lightroom was made to do...efficiently doing a bunch of "photography" stuff like correcting colors, levels, curves and light editing on individual photos. The most recent PPC version is Lightroom 2.

    I think that Aperture can do this same sort of stuff with similar efficiency, but have never used it other than a tiny bit of playing around with it, so anything I know about it I'd be repeating second or third hand.

    From my limited Aperture experience and more extensive Lightroom experience, I will say that if you are comfortable with Adobe CS products you will likely find the Lightroom UI to be a lot more familiar than the one in Aperture.
     
  14. Altemose thread starter macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #14

    I actually do have Aperture on my main MacBook Pro. It works extremely well but I doubt I could get a copy that would work on my PowerMac at a good price or that would accept my licensing information. If Lightroom 2 is affordable enough I will go down that route. I like Preview and it does everything I need on there but the stability is proving to be a problem.
     
  15. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Online
    #15
    I second Graphic Converter.

    Way back when I was looking for a way to have editorial jpgs opened, sized, converted to CMYK, a filename prefix added and then saved. All from one folder to another.

    Photoshop wasn't working well (this is a folder action script I needed) so I looked and looked and found someone's Applescript online. They called Graphic Converter.

    You can set up a batch process with GC, save it and then use an Applescript to call GC using the batch process you made. The batch process can be anything GC is capable of, including color adjustment.

    I could have fully automated the process by making GC do color adjustment, but I still need that eye for our editorial photos, so that's something I still do by hand.

    In any case, I have two scripts that do this at work to convert RGB to CMYK and Grayscale. It's the same script, they just call different batch process files. When I get in to work I'll post it for you and you can run with it if you like.
     
  16. Altemose thread starter macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16


    Thank you! I have yearbook soon so I will try the tools everyone posted about on the Mac in a little bit.
     
  17. CYB3RBYTE macrumors regular

    CYB3RBYTE

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Location:
    Midwest
    #17
    I knew there was a PPC version of Adobe Bridge!

    But anyhow it sounds to me like an applescript written specifically for this is the best way to go. I feel your pain, Altemose, because I too edit multiple photos at a time for minor stuff like this... I just always have gone the slower route!
     
  18. Altemose thread starter macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #18


    I may end up staying with Preview as it does what I need well enough. The problem is that if I open many pictures at once and have them on the sidebar then Preview is susceptible to crashing. Is there a way to increase the stability of Preview?
     
  19. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Online
    #19
    OK, here we go…

    Code:
    -- property trig_folder : "Pueblo3:Users:erik.youngren:Desktop:Folder Action Scripts:" as alias
    property source_folder : "PHOTO (ppsbsserver):CMYK_IN:" as alias
    property dest_folder : "EDITORIAL (ppsbsserver):CCX_DO NOT DELETE" as alias
    property error_folder : "PHOTO (ppsbsserver):ERROR:CMYK:" as alias
    property batch_file : "Pueblo3:Users:erikyoungren:Library:Application Support:GraphicConverter:Actions:CMYK" as alias
    
    on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving added_items
        tell application "Play Sound"
            play "Pueblo3:System:Library:Sounds:Glass.aiff"
        end tell
        growlAlert()
        convertIt(source_folder)
    end adding folder items to
    
    on growlAlert()
        tell application "GrowlHelperApp"
            -- Make a list of all the notification types 
            -- that this script will ever send:
            set the allNotificationsList to ¬
                {"Photo Server"}
            
            -- Make a list of the notifications 
            -- that will be enabled by default.      
            -- Those not enabled by default can be enabled later 
            -- in the 'Applications' tab of the growl prefpane.
            set the enabledNotificationsList to ¬
                {"Photo Server"}
            
            -- Register our script with growl.
            -- You can optionally (as here) set a default icon 
            -- for this script's notifications.
            register as application ¬
                "Growl Photo Server" all notifications allNotificationsList ¬
                default notifications enabledNotificationsList ¬
                icon of application "Script Editor"
            
            --    Send a Notification...
            notify with name ¬
                "Photo Server" title ¬
                "Photo Server" description ¬
                "Photos are now being processed" application name "Growl Photo Server"
            
        end tell
    end growlAlert
    
    on convertIt(fda)
        -- tell application "Finder"
        --    open file "Trigger Photo.app" of trig_folder
        -- end tell
        tell application "Finder"
            activate
            set this_item to every file of fda
            repeat with one_item in this_item
                try
                    tell application "GraphicConverter"
                        convert file (one_item as file specification) using batch (batch_file as file specification) to folder (dest_folder as file specification)
                    end tell
                on error the error_message number the error_number
                    set the error_text to "Error: " & the error_number & ". " & the error_message
                    -- the following line evokes the sub-routine to write the error into an error log created on the desktop
                    -- if the file "Script Error Log.txt" already exists, it will add one line to the log
                    my write_error_log(the error_text)
                    move it to error_folder with replacing
                end try
            end repeat
        end tell
    end convertIt
    
    on write_error_log(this_error)
        set the error_log to ((errorFolder) as text) & "Script Error Log.txt"
        try
            open for access file the error_log with write permission
            write (this_error & return) to file the error_log starting at eof
            close access file the error_log
        on error
            try
                close access file the error_log
            end try
        end try
    end write_error_log
    Modify as you see fit. It's a Folder Action Script. First thing it does is play a sound (alerts me that the script has been triggered) and sends me a Growl notification.

    Since this is a FAS I have my folders listed as properties so I only need to call the property and not the folder. This should easily convert to a droplet though if you want to do that. And you can eliminate the play sound and Growl notification too. The main part of the Applescript is after the Growl notification.

    Note that I have GC set to batch process silently, meaning it does not show you that it's opening and processing files. You can set it the other way though if you like.

    I would make ALL my preference settings to GC, then make my batch file. You want GC set up with the preferences you want to use before you process anything.

    Lastly, note that there is a bug in GC. If GC crashes or you do not do the following (I will list it in a minute) any file that GC writes out will not have a filename extension at the end.

    Every time you reopen GC you have to simply open the Batch process editing function and then open your batch process file. You don't need to do anything but open it, you can cancel everything and close the edit feature right after you open the batch process file. But, if you don't do that you will not get files with their extension.

    Hope this helps.
     
  20. Altemose thread starter macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #20
    It does help! I will give it a shot tomorrow in yearbook. I tried looking at Adobe Bridge today but it kept force closing on my machine.
     

Share This Page