Batch Encoder

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by WesCole, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. WesCole macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Hello,

    I tried to do a search for this, but the most recent post I could find was in May '09.

    I was wondering if there is a good batch encoding program for videos. I am planning on encoding all of my movies to the new Apple TV format in preparation for the launch of it.

    I know handbrake can queue files, but you have to add them one-by-one.

    Are there any applications where I can just select all of my videos and then select Apple TV format and just let it run for a week or so to encode them all?

    Thanks in advance.

    Wes
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    You can use MPEG Streamclip for batch encoding (CMD+B), but it has no presets, thus you have to manually set the settings once for all files.
     
  3. WesCole thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Thanks.

    So, AppleTV is just the standard 1280x720, right? I don't have to do anything special? I plan on adding them to my iTunes library so I can stream them to the AppleTV, so I want to make sure they are compatible.

    Thanks again.

    Wes
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    Apple TV is up to 1280 x 720, but it can play videos with a lower resolution too.
    Are all your videos in that resolution?

    As far as I know, MPEG Streamclip leaves the resolution as it is unless you change the setting for that.
     
  5. WesCole thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    My videos are a mixed bunch of resolutions. I also noticed that the program you suggested doesn't encode .mkv files. I will give it a try on a handful of videos first before I commit to doing my whole library and see how those work on my AppleTV when I get it.

    I am still not sure why Handbrake doesn't offer an easy batch encoding process. I suppose I could add ten or so every night before bed and get it done that way....haha.

    Wes
     

Share This Page