OS X Batman: Arkham Knight for Mac cancelled

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Janichsan, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Janichsan macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #1
    WB Games has announced that their latest Batman game will not be coming for Mac and Linux. Feral has already removed it from their radar, but hasn't issued any statement regarding that.
     
  2. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    They probably aren't allowed to discuss it. But damn it would be interesting to know why.
     
  3. kaioshade macrumors regular

    kaioshade

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #3
    Considering the state of the PC version, this does not surprise me.
     
  4. e93to macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    Well... My iMac wouldn't have been able to run it any way..
     
  5. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #5
    ^
    |
    THIS!

    I liked the first game in the series on PC but not so much the second so I didn't rush out to buy this one .. and based on feedback from friends it is a good thing.
     
  6. wubsylol macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    #6
    Hopefully the PC version can leave Steam Early Access soon.
     
  7. Noble Actual macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #7
    They can't even make a PC version.

    Help us all when WB needs to do two things now...
     
  8. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #8
    Because the PC version was/is screwed up so badly I would think, I have played it on PS4 the batmobile driving will make you crazy, it slides around like a ruptured spider on ice, a vehicle that should not only be fast but have super grip I would think, OK OK turn it off play something else.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 10, 2016 ---
    I would think the whole game program needs to re written top down or bottom up whatever way they decide to approach it. I think it is one of those screwed games where everytime they fix one thing it creates another problem somewhere else.
     
  9. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #9
    Problems with the PC version seem to be deep in the game's engine. I mean, the only fix so far was a patch release that locks the framerate at 30fps for every gpu. That alone doesn't look very promising at all. However, being able to play it for free (it was included with a new nvidia gpu purchase), now I'm not anticipating a fixed version. Framerate issues aside, gameplay was...meh.
     
  10. Janichsan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #10
    Not quite. There were a number of patches, including one that allows you to select up to 90fps (not sure if you can run it at an unlimited framerate with the in-game settings), but that still wasn't sufficient. It still runs like arse for many.
     

Share This Page