OS X Batman Arkham Origins PC under Bootcamp advise

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ilyasdesign37, May 3, 2014.

  1. ilyasdesign37 macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #1
    I have the iMac 27 (late 2013) model i5 3.4ghz 16GB
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 775M 2048 MB

    need advise please on graphic settings, do you think these settings are too high
    for this model plus the native resolution too?

    [​IMG]
    screen cap


    Benchmark active
    [​IMG]
    free upload

    [​IMG]
    image upload free

    CPU temp and fan within 5 mins play

    [​IMG]
    image hosting gif
     
  2. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
  3. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #3
    First of all, do not bump your thread until at least 24 hours have passed. It's rude and if I'm not mistaken, a violation of forum rules.

    Second, the answer to your question is subjective. If the game performs to your satisfaction, the settings are fine. If you feel it's not good enough, lower some of them and/or the resolution.
     
  4. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #4
    sorry didn't know.....
     
  5. SingularityG macrumors 6502

    SingularityG

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #5
    Batman Arkham Origins is an extremely well optimised game, so don't get surprised by the smooth framerate after you push all the settings to their highest.:)
     
  6. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #6
    so you think my setting are too high?
    thats why have fan noise issues when playing:(
     
  7. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #7
    I wouldn't call fan noise an issue by itself, to be honest. It's pretty normal for the fans to kick in when the iMac runs a 3d intensive application. As long as you are ok with the framerate and the gpu/cpu temperatures are within acceptable limits, it's all good.
     
  8. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #8
    that's my issue I don't know if it's right settings
    if the fan noise takes over the game sound is that a serious issue?:confused:
     
  9. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #9
    What do you mean, the fan noise takes over the game sound? I don't see how the fans could be louder than your audio even at full speed, unless a fan is broken and is rattling or something.

    But I'm inclined to believe that you're simply overthinking it. Your average FPS is good, and any modern 3D game will make your fans go at full speed. You don't need to worry about your computer getting too hot, as it manages that itself and will shut itself down in the very unlikely event it gets too hot.
     
  10. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #10
    back of my iMac gets very hot!
    what is FPS?:confused:
     
  11. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #11
    That's normal, it's where your CPU is. FPS is frames per second (basically how smooth the game runs). Your average is 47, that's good.
     
  12. SingularityG macrumors 6502

    SingularityG

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #12
    No I think you are okay.;)

    Fan noise is not an issue. You don't have to worry about overheating as long as it does not shut down your system.
     
  13. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #13
    have you play this game via bootcamp?
     
  14. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #14
    I have, and fan noise is pretty much inevitable regardless of what Mac you own. They are not designed to be gaming powerhouses. If you wanted one, you should have built a traditional desktop PC.
     
  15. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #15
    someone told me this and also apple, would it make any differance if I installed
    internal SSD on the iMac?

    btw what graphic settings did you use for the game?
     
  16. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #16
    No.

    Irrelevant because 1) my system is much different than yours and 2) the fan makes considerable noise in every game I play except for very, very old titles.
     
  17. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #17
    you use iMac or macbook pro?
     
  18. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #18
    Doesn't matter. If you want to play games, you have two options: 1) Deal with fan noise on the Mac or 2) purchase or build a dedicated desktop that has better thermal management.
     
  19. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #19
    i might just upgrade the graphics to 780m

    thanks for the advise!

    it is ok to have mac fan control on windows?
     
  20. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #20
    Which will require to you purchase a new iMac.
     
  21. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #21
    might able to upgrade at my local store if they do it
     
  22. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #22
    You're still going to have fan noise.

    Any game will give you heat.
     
  23. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #23
    so you're under the impression that your local apple store will upgrade your imac non-upgradable gpu with another? I'm still confused with the purpose of this post. you want to play games and not have the fan on?
     
  24. ilyasdesign37 thread starter macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #24
    no i know now that the fan is part of gaming!

    i thought you could upgrade the graphics card after purchase which apple say you can
    but another apple reseller say you can't, only had first purchase!

    i only done this post because I never done gaming before on iMac just wanted to know
    other members experience that's all and advise!:D
     
  25. erayser macrumors 65816

    erayser

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    #25
    I didn't know you can upgrade GPU's on iMac's. Cool if true... It would drive me nuts if I couldn't upgrade GPU's, CPU, mobo, etc.. on my gaming rig. I prefer not to run fans on my on my CPU and GPU's. Fan noise is not part of my gaming.;)
     

Share This Page