Batman Begins is 5 Hours?!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by ScootPatoot, Jan 6, 2009.

  1. ScootPatoot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #1
    So I encoded Batman Begins from an .mkv source which is the correct length of the movie (2:20:03). I encoded it twice with Handbrake's latest version for the PC 0.9.3. The outputted file is now 5:37:43. The movie plays fine and looks great and after 2:20:03 it just turns to a white screen for 3 + hours. I don't think it effects the file size because it is only 3.5 gigs (not bad for a 720 HD source).

    My question is, how would one cut the rest of the movie off without having to encode it again? Any options. I don't want to re-encode the m4v file as it will degrade in quality. I've already re-encoded the .mkv file twice with the same 5.5 hours results. Any ideas?
     
  2. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #2
    MPEG Streamclip should be able to do that. When you clip it, use Save As. Don't export.
     
  3. ScootPatoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the software reco. Let me make sure I'm doing this right. I selected the correct time for the "Out" and then clicked on "Trim". I then saved the file as an .mp4 file (since there wasn't an option for .m4v). It is now saving this file as I type this. Now, is it encoding the file all over again? It seems like it is taking a long time is the reason I ask. If it is just making a copy of the file that would explain it as well, and be preferrable.

    Or, is there a better way to do this?

    Sorry for the newb questions, this is my first time with the software...call me a virgin :p
     
  4. mcdj macrumors G3

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Maybe it's the little known prequel, "Batman Slowly Begins".
     
  5. ScootPatoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008

Share This Page