Battery Installed - Then Not installed?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Atropine, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. Atropine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #1
    Hello,
    My mac used to charge fine, but since yesterday, the battery sign has an X in it and the battery is stuck at 0%.

    I have plugged my battery into a friends mac and it starts to charge fine, putting a charged battery into my mac and the battery has the charging sign in it. Although it stays as 'calculating until full' and eventually returns to having the X.

    When the mac is first turned on i get this:

    Model Information:
    Serial Number: XXXX-YYYY-0-0
    Charge Information:
    Charge remaining (mAh): 0
    Fully charged: No
    Charging: Yes
    Full charge capacity (mAh): 0
    Health Information:
    Cycle count: 0
    Condition: Good
    Battery Installed: Yes
    Amperage (mA): 0
    Voltage (mV): 0

    Later on it will tell me this:
    Model Information:
    Serial Number: XXXX-YYYY-0-0
    Charge Information:
    Charge remaining (mAh): 0
    Fully charged: No
    Charging: No
    Full charge capacity (mAh): 0
    Health Information:
    Cycle count: 0
    Battery Installed: No
    Amperage (mA): 0
    Voltage (mV): 0


    Any clues?
    Its a late 2007.

    Its not the battery so im stumped.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    I don't think it's a good idea to ever put your battery in another Mac. Leave it in yours. Reset the SMC and then calibrate your battery. Instructions for both are in the link below, under CALIBRATION and CHARGING. This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions:
     
  3. Atropine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #3
    Really helpful, i followed the steps, and reset it. The charger stayed orange light (charging) for 5 mins after start up, but still just said calculating until full. then reverted back to the x and no batteries.

    Shall i just take it on the chin that this macbook is now a desktop mac?

    Ir are there anymore options (a new logic board is not one on a student bank account)?

    cheers
    x
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Before you decide it's a logic board or consider it a desktop, look at the FAQ I posted, under the CHARGING section and check out the link on troubleshooting MagSafe adapters. If that doesn't help, I'd visit the Apple Store to have them check to see if your battery is defective.
     

Share This Page