Battery level in status bar different from istat/coconut battery

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by evolute8, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. evolute8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #1
    [​IMG]

    I've just got my 13" i7 256gb 8gb ram few days ago.

    I began installing istat pro as well as coconutbattery.

    However, the battery level remaining is different from the one shown in istat pro and coconutbattery.

    What could possibly be the problem?
    How do I resolve this issue?
     
  2. Barna Biro macrumors 6502a

    Barna Biro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Location:
    Luzern, Switzerland
    #2
    I don't think that's an issue... the status bar just seemingly has a different approximation algorithm than the other two applications. I don't think it's worth bothering with this...
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Doesn't look like you actually have a problem that needs to be solved.
     
  4. evolute8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #4
    Because on my 2011 13" MBP, the battery remaining for all 3 places shows the same %..
     
  5. Silono macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
  6. evolute8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #6
    still the same, no improvement.
     
  7. astoxos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    #7
    i have the same issue here: istat and coconut shows 5% less than the OEM battery gauge. I dont thing its something to worry about though..
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    It's normal in 2012 models.

    2012 - Battery Charge Indicator
     
  9. borisiii macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #9
    GGJ is right as ever. It's the same on my retina MBP.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. evolute8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #10
    Hopefully ML will fix this issue

    Or perhaps an update for the 2012 models
     
  11. midtownhd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #11
    the same thing started happening to me just a few hours ago.
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    I don't think it's a Mac OS X issue. I think it's more likely that it's an issue with the 3rd party apps that need to be updated to be compatible with new Mac models. My guess is you'll see updates to those apps in the near future.
     
  13. evolute8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #13
    oh...so the issue is with the apps and not the system itself?
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    Yes, most likely. The apps work fine with earlier models, even running Lion, so the only difference is the newer hardware. My guess is you'll see app updates to correct it.
     
  15. BlueOcean macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #15
    I agree that this is probably the case - I noticed this too with iStat Pro.

    Honestly, it's not a huge issue. I'd always trust the OS estimate more than any 3rd party program anyway. If it's low enough, charge - that's pretty much all the indicator needs to tell you :p
     
  16. Reshka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    #16
    [​IMG]


    I'm having the same issue with my new Macbook Pro (Mid 2014).


    My MBP shows 100 % battery charge , but Coconutbattery just 95%. After this point (MagSafe's led switches to green when status bar shows 100 %) coconut still thinks that the MBP is charging and shows the 100 % after nearly 2 hours. After unplugging my MBP , the status bar indicator stays about 10 Minutes at 100 % while Coconut displays a normal discharge (when coconut shows exactly 95 % charge the status bar starts decreasing, too)

    I've noticed the 5 % offset after switching from bootcamp to Mac the first time (Windows forced Sleep Mode at 5 % charge -> after rebooting to Macbook : 5 % offset)

    Is there already a solution for this problem? (tried SMC and PRAM reset already)

    (Sorry for my bad english)
     
  17. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #17
    There really is nothing wrong here. Coconut battery is showing the correct information and is accurate. The OS is fudging the number in that menu bar graphic I suspect so users don't become overly concerned about normal battery fluctuations while on AC power.

    If you click the Apple at the top left of your screen then select About this Mac then More Info then System Report and scroll down to the power section you will see the exact same (accurate) number (below) Coconut is reporting.

    Nothing to worry about.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page