Battery Life Loss w/ Intel 320

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by klooney, May 25, 2011.

  1. klooney, May 25, 2011
    Last edited: May 25, 2011

    klooney macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Location:
    Abq
    #1
    I was wondering if this is normal. I've lost about an hour of battery life after I installed a 320 into my 2010 Macbook Pro. I did SMC and PRAM reset after I installed the SSD. Has anyone experienced similar problems?
     
  2. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
  3. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #3
    did you possible install it in the optical drive and you have now a HDD + SSD running?
    Otherwise they only time the SSD might be worse in power consumption is when the HDD spins down, but that hardly ever happens.
     
  4. klooney thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Location:
    Abq
    #4
    Nope its where the normal HHD is, no optibay or anything like that.
     
  5. teddat macrumors member

    teddat

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    #5
    I have a 160gb intel 320. no noticeable power loss. in fact it lasts longer than my old stock 5400rpm HD. by atleast 30-45mins
     
  6. XandeR803 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #6
    I have the 300 GB one it also lasts about 30-45 minutes longer than stock.
     
  7. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #7
    I have the 40gb 320 in an optibay along with the original HD on idle, and I get around 20 minutes of extra battery life. (5:10 vs 4:50 for productivity & web browsing w/ wifi on and half screen brightness)
     
  8. kobyh15 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    #8
    I have the 300 GB and get about 45 minutes more than the stock 5400.
     

Share This Page