Battery life

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nStyle, Dec 6, 2009.

1. nStyle macrumors 6502a

I ended up buying a new 15" MBP. I'm new to Apple, and like it so far. Great features, lightweight, amazing keyboard, etc... But I have a slight problem, possibly. The battery life indicator within OS X is showing me low readings and fluctuates constantly. Right now I just unplugged the MBP from the wall and it says 4:54 remaining. This seems low? Then it will jump down and up within a minute in large increments.

I accidentally pulled the power adapter from the mac because it got hung on my desk when I was trying to move it from my lap to the desk. I don't think this hurt anything, but still, just thought I would include that bit of information.

Okay, more information. The battery life indicator on the side of the computer itself is showing a loss of 1 bar already in about 30 minutes. This would mean that I would only be getting a max of 4 hours battery life if the trend continued.

So, I assume it is one of two things:

1. The battery indicator is just not accurate at all.
    2. I have a problem.

Ideas?
    (Side Question: How do I know if I have Snow Leopard?)

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

The estimation is based on current usage, so if you are doing more intensive tasks the battery will not last as long as when you are just doing word processing. The fluctuation is due to usage of the processor as well. As for your snow leopard question, go to the Apple on the top left and click "About this Mac" if the version number is 10.6.x then you are running snow leopard.

3. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

ziggyonice

First, congrats on your new Mac. :)