battery percentage readings

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by rodels, May 5, 2018.

  1. rodels macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    #1
    With my phone shutdown and on charge if I turn it on the battery icon reads 1%, however as soon as I disconnect the cable the percentage reads the true value. If I charge it in sleep mode and wake it it shows the correct value.
    Any ideas why this happens and is there a fix?
     
  2. C DM macrumors Sandy Bridge

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    What phone and iOS version?
     
  3. rodels thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    #3
    iPhone 6 64 & IOS 11.3.1
     
  4. Minho macrumors regular

    Minho

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #4
    Has your phone been repaired recently, like a screen or battery replacement?
     
  5. rodels thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    #5
    Yes I did replace the battery. I still have the original battery maybe put the old back in and see what happens?
     
  6. Minho macrumors regular

    Minho

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #6
    I would try that, it is possible that the battery gas gauge circuitry (embedded in the battery) is defective. If the old battery reports charge properly, then you will need to find a better quality replacement battery.
     
  7. rodels, May 6, 2018
    Last edited: May 6, 2018

    rodels thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    #7
    Yes I did replace the battery. And I just put the old one back in and it is OK but then when I put the new (after market) battery in and turn on the icon reads 1% and when I pull out the cable it reads true value.
    I replaced the battery because after about 5mins of continues use of the digitiser it malfunctions and needs to be put into sleep and woken again to work. Since the new battery I can play with it for hours and it works fine.

    Note that this only happens if I have the cable in and shut down the phone and restart it. If the the phone is shutdown and I plug the cable in the phone will start automatically and show true value.
     

Share This Page