Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BR4DOKYBrazil

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 25, 2018
Londrina - PR / Brazil
Guys, maybe my question is already answered in my own question 😅

I finally bought my Macbook Air M3 and I won't deny that I take a lot of care with the batteries of my devices, for example, I never let the battery of my Watch and my iPhone run out completely, I don't take my devices on the beach on hot days, I don't leave them charging in a warm place, etc. I have always sold my iPhone's with battery health according to my care. And now I bought a Macbook. I'm a lawyer and 90% of the time I use my Macbook is when I'm close to electricity.

I learned from the internet that the ideal is to always keep the battery between 20 and 80%, according to the Battery Optimization itself. The extremes are bad.

Now comes my question: using the Macbook connected to the outlet 90% of the time would be more harmful to the battery than always using the device through the battery itself and charging it when necessary? How do you use your Macbook?

joeblow7777

macrumors 604
Sep 7, 2010
I understand that you're very battery health conscious, but in the grand scheme of things, most of the things that we have control of have little effect on the longevity of the battery. I've always used all of my laptops plugged in more often than not, and their batteries have always been healthy after years of use. Just let the battery complete a cycle every now and then, even if only once a month, to let the electrons flow.

Reactions: BR4DOKYBrazil

AlmightyKang

macrumors 6502
Nov 20, 2023
Don't worry about it.

My MBP is usually run to 100% and tanked to 0% on a regular basis and left on charge for 2-3 days at a time and the machine has had the crap hammered out of it most of that time. The battery health is at 93% after 2 years and I can't honestly tell any difference from new.

Alpha Centauri