Battery Use Concern

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by rtjn, Jan 5, 2015.

1. rtjn macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

This is my first post. I've been wanting to ask for suggestions on how to efficiently use my Mac Air '14 battery. I've read Apple's suggestions and I've been avoiding to keep the charger plugged in all the time and to discharge the battery to 0% in every 30 days. However, with the type of work I'm doing every day (online advertising), I consume three to four cycles a day due to heavy CPU usage and I'm afraid I will reach the 500-1000 cycle mark in less than a year.

These are a few of what I do every day:

1. Skype (share screen on) for 6 hr-straight.
    2. Editing heavy files simultaneously on Lightroom and Photoshop
    3. Syncing heavy files on dropbox all the time.
    4. Video uploads.
    5. 3 browsers, at least 6 tabs opened.

Do you think it's okay to keep it plugged in all the time?

Also, I'm new to Mac. I want to know if the battery gets exhausted, will I still be able to use my Air with the charger? Or Will I need to replace it?

Sorry for my English, not my first language.

2. illusionx macrumors 6502

Battery Use Concern

Just leave it plugged it. Never drain it to 0%.

Best usage is the kind of people who use their laptop on their commute and charge it at work and so on...

If you drain it below 40%, it counts as a full cycle. Two 50% discharge will count as 1 full cycle. So you get more out of 2 half discharge than one "full" discharge.

3. motrek macrumors 68020

???

Of course you can keep the charger plugged in all the time and Apple never recommended otherwise.

They did recommend that you discharge the battery at least once every 30 days but that doesn't mean you should discharge the battery whenever possible, and it's no longer recommended anyway.

----------

Where did you hear this?

4. Meister Suspended

Meister

5. motrek macrumors 68020