Battlefield 2 on MBP SR

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by paul17win, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. paul17win macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #1
    i was just thinking about getting the new MBP, 2.4ghz, 256vram, and i wanted to know how well Battlefield 2 runs on it?
     
  2. booksacool1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    BF2 should run really well. Assuming that EA allows it to run at all :p
    Its an older game (2005) so you should expect to be able to max out the settings.
     
  3. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #3
    Battlefield 2 should run perfectly on any of the new MacBook Pros. :)
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  5. paul17win thread starter macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #5
    do you guys think that call of duty 4 will be able to run on the MBP in the months to come?:)
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    Yes, assuming that they port it for Mac right away. :)
     
  7. paul17win thread starter macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #7
    how do you like your MBP? Do you play some games on it?
     
  8. holybatfart macrumors member

    holybatfart

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Johio
    #8
    Runs Great

    BF2 runs great, really great on my 2.4GHz MBP. All settings are on High except AA. Res is currently set at 1152x864 but i plan to modify the profile file to play at 1440x900.
     
  9. paul17win thread starter macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #9
    ya i guess i just cant really decide whether or not to get the new MBP or maybe a mid range gaming notebook? see with the MBP i would def use it for pictures and videos but i want to be able to play some games.
     
  10. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
    As long as you're playing anything under the threshold of things like Dirt or Cyrsis are not holding, you'll be fine with any other game with the 8600. ^_^
     
  11. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #11
    Do you mean the PC version via Bootcamp or do you plan on playing the Aspyr port of BF1942 in OSX?
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #12
    I absolutely love it- this thing is awesome! The only game that I have played so far has been Command & Conquer Generals which ran perfectly. Seems a good deal snappier than my previous 2GHz MacBook Pro. :) :apple:
     
  13. holybatfart macrumors member

    holybatfart

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Johio
    #13
    Choose for yourself but if you do get one of the MBPs you will not be dissapointed in windows(XP)/mac gaming. And Gymnut, he's talking about the PC version of Battlefield 2(under bootcamp) not Battlefield 1942 for OSX.
     
  14. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
  15. B1RDFLU macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Allen, TX
    #15
    Battlefield 2 should run fine on the new SR MBP. I have the 2.2 ghz version and i am wondering which game i should get battlefield 2 or 2142 i want the one thats gonna have more people online since that is the main reason for getting the game:)
     
  16. paul17win thread starter macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #16
    Get battlefield 2 if your not really big into future games because thats what 2142 is. 2142 is still really fun its just not the same as Battlefield 2. Battlefield 2 kicks ass, well at least it did before my pc crashed 4 days ago
     
  17. holybatfart macrumors member

    holybatfart

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Johio
    #17
    Definately get BF2 over 2142. 2142 uses adware/spyware for in-game advertisements and it looks like a shoddy mod for bf2.
     
  18. kingofkolt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #18
    I play BF2 on Vista Ultimate on my 2.4GHz MBP and it runs smoothly on medium-high settings. I usually have 1024x768 resolution with 4x anti-aliasing and medium dynamic light/shadows. Texture is usually medium or high and most other stuff is medium I think. It'll have some choppiness for the first few minutes but it generally smooths out eventually. I have 2GB of RAM in case that helps.
     
  19. kingofkolt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #19
    In-game advertisements aren't adware/spyware. What do you mean by saying it uses adware and spyware?!
     
  20. holybatfart macrumors member

    holybatfart

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Johio
    #20
    The adware only runs when the game is open but here are some sources. List can go on if you want more.

    http://forums.fevergaming.com/game-...s/90849-q-how-bf2142-adware-really-works.html

    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=482066

     

Share This Page