Battlefield 2142 Mac Version not working (crash log)

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by kkat69, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #1
    I know for some 733t few the game seems to work fine, but for those of us who have been dealing with it crashing at start up (get the <close> <submit> <reopen> box) and the ingame video being f00ked, etc etc. Can we compare crash logs?

    Background info and symptons:
    System Info:
    Model: iMac7,1, BootROM IM71.007A.B00, 2 processors, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.8 GHz, 2 GB
    Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro, ATI,RadeonHD2600, PCIe, 256 MB
    Memory Module: BANK 0/DIMM0, 1 GB, DDR2 SDRAM, 667 MHz
    Memory Module: BANK 1/DIMM1, 1 GB, DDR2 SDRAM, 667 MHz
    Symptons:
    Crash at start up
    InGame Video distorted but audio works
    Resolution restricted (in bootCamp I have access to loads but that's also the windows version of bf2142)
    lots of "BLUE" textures (in AppleStore reviews someone called BF2142, "Welcome To Waterworld")
    Jerky mouse
    Laggy as all get out.

    My crash log shows the following (after a clean re-install and initial start of the game)

    Code:
    Date/Time:      2007-09-05 00:50:10.864 -0400
    OS Version:     10.4.10 (Build 8R4031)
    Report Version: 4
    
    Command: cider
    Path:    /Applications/Battlefield 2142.app/Contents/Resources/Battlefield 2142.app/Contents/MacOS/cider
    Parent:  WindowServer [100]
    
    Version:        1.25 (1)
    Build Version:  485
    Project Name:   Cider
    Source Version: 485
    
    PID:    555
    Thread: 1
    
    Exception:  EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (0x0002)
    Code[0]:    0x0000000d
    Code[1]:    0x00000000
    
    
    Thread 0:
    ..... bla bla
    
    Thread 1 Crashed:
    0   libntdll.dylib               	0x10a7d465 wine_server_call + 233
    1   libntdll.dylib               	0x10a82827 __wine_recv_unix_signal + 78
    2   libntdll.dylib               	0x10a1fd48 usr1_handler + 80
    3   libSystem.B.dylib            	0x9011072c _sigtramp + 49
    4   libSystem.B.dylib            	0x90009cd7 mach_msg_trap + 7
    5   com.unsanity.ape             	0xc0001d48 __ape_agent + 307
    6   libSystem.B.dylib            	0x90024227 _pthread_body + 84
    
    Thread 2:
    ..... bla bla
    Thread 3:
    ..... bla bla
    Thread 4:
    ..... bla bla
    Thread 5:
    ..... bla bla
    Thread 6:
    ..... bla bla
    
    Thread 1 crashed with X86 Thread State (32-bit):
      eax: 0x00000000  ebx: 0x10a7d38d  ecx: 0xb009da80  edx: 0x9006529c
      edi: 0xb009daec  esi: 0xb009db24  ebp: 0xb009da68  esp: 0xb009d9c0
       ss: 0x0000001f  efl: 0x00010246  eip: 0x10a7d465   cs: 0x00000017
       ds: 0x0000001f   es: 0x0000001f   fs: 0x00000000   gs: 0x00000037
    
    
     
  2. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #2
    You might want to check this thread.. Seems similar?
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=349235
    Basically, there is a known issue with these new iMacs, and at present they don't get along with many popular games. Usually the crash brings down the entire mac. Although its actually the graphics system crying enough, which makes the mac appear that it has frozen solid. But more often than not, it hasnt. Even if the end result is much the same.
    I dont think it is any hardware fault. So will mostly likely be fixed in a software update at some point. Perhaps 10.4.11

    I could be wrong of course.. but thats my take on it.
     
  3. kkat69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #3
    Good to know, I'll repost this in the BF forums as well. Might be a workaround somewhere or at least shed some beacon of hope for us that are disgusted with the port of the game.
     
  4. TrickyX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #4
    Unreal

    What a freaking joke. They have what.. Like 5 different computers to test on? Vs like 10 billion combos of parts and cards on Windows machines. They did a really sad job on this and I hope that either Cider gets to offering 100% performance of DirectX or they earn there money, charging us premium prices for these games, that are half a$$ ports. They need to either port them propertly, or resolve the issues with Cider. BF2142 at this point is 10x better in Windows. Pisses me off as I paid for the PC version, then paid 40 bucks for the Mac version, which runs like crap in comparision and the PC version is only 20 bucks now.

    EA sucks..
     
  5. kkat69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #5
    Although I think it might be a driver issue on the new iMacs seeing as how other ppl on older systems say some of these "cider" games run fine. I do agree with your response.

    Cider to me is a glorified Wine (for those that know what wine is for linux) and wine was and always in an opensource constant state of development. Let me say that again "constant state of development."

    What EA should have done was gone back to Aspyre and had them port the games properly to a native code like other games aspyre was contracted to do.

    Wine is something I can download for free, not pay 40 bucks for someone to setup for me to run a windows game in a non windows environment.

    Bottom line, I want to play this on mac so I dont have to boot camp (even boot camping isn't working well and I think it's the video drivers again) but would rather play it natively like I should be.

    Been playing around with settings in Cider AND BF and still no luck. even played singleplayer mode with default video settings (fresh install and not modifying in game options) and it was like I was playing errr walking around on hot lava. There was nothing but RED all over the place.

    Def something really wrong here.
     
  6. Lock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I'm also disgusted with this game. I have yet to finish a full round of solo play and I've only managed to run about 10 ft in mutiplayer before it crashed. It crashes on startup, it crashes in the menus, it crashes in game. Usually I can force quit, but once it needed a reboot. The quality of this "port" is just unacceptable; I honestly can't believed they shipped this piece of junk.

    If the situation doesn't improve I'm just going to give up and go back to playing bf1942, which is depressing because I'll be back on my powermac and not using my shiny new laptop.
     
  7. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #7
    The multiplayer problem may be with the punkbuster client - I was unable to play until someone showed me how to manually update the client via going to their website (punkbuster). Since I got that fixed it runs just fine in multiplayer.
     
  8. overcast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #8
    What do you think CIDER is, it's a Wine library for Apple Intel machines. Literally.
     
  9. ViperDesign macrumors 6502a

    ViperDesign

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #9
    It's EA, seriously do they EVER turn out a finished working product? I really don't know how this company continues to make money with the crap they put out in the market.
     
  10. kkat69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #10
    Actually it's APE. Application Enhancer program that sometimes comes packaged with several other apps.

    It was causing the initial crash.

    The graphics issues are actually noted with Apple themselves. The new ATI drivers are causing the bulk of many peoples problems not only this game but also with WoW, UT2k4, and a few others.

    Some games like Prey run just fine (using newer dx10 technology) but not previous dx9 type games.

    also this is mainly hitting the newer iMac's and not older ones which run the game better.

    Until Apple puts out newer drivers or Cider/Ea come up with a patch this game is almost unplayable in OSX.

    Disapointing really but fortunately I have the windows version and bootcamp to play. Even there I get rare crashes due to the ati drivers that got ported to windows from osx.

    So it's not really EA, but unfortunately their lack of written support on this matter would make them look guilty, it would be a combination of all 3 companies together. Apple, Ea, and Cider. Personally this should have been a proper native port rather than a Wine emulator port.
     
  11. Lock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    Thanks, that seemed to do the trick.
     
  12. soulvoid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #12
    Funny I ran accross this thread.

    Before i even got 2142 for osx i had a buddy who kinda played his bf2142 on his windows machine. Well so he gave me his install dvd for my bootcamp partition. Little did i know EA made it where you had to have an account to login to 2142 now. Not just a good cd key. So i NEVER got to play 2142 on my windows bootcamp partition.


    So i was in the apple store the other day and picked up 2142 for my mbp thinking sweet! No more bootcamp crap and i can actually play now.

    So i install 2142 to my mac. Load it up. Everything loaded good but the performance was HORRIBLE. Not to mention the fact that the res of the game would only go to like 1280x760 or something so i had a 4:3 picture on a widescreen mbp.

    Needless to say i was very very dissapointed.

    So i thought to myself....Hey... I wonder if i can use this cd key for my previous 2142 install in my bootcamp windows version.

    Rebooted, loaded in my cd key. Updated 2142 to 1.25version. And it runs like a D R E A M!

    It runs SOO much better in windows its not even funny.

    The only downside is having to reboot to windows every time but oh well.

    CIDER has dissapointed me with their performance so far.
     
  13. CharlieX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #13
    POSSIBLE SOLUTION FOR MACBOOK PRO!

    I haven't narrowed it down completely, my method involved changing a lot of things at once, but I've gotten it to run without any crashes for over 2 hours of play:

    Opened the "config" file in it's Preferences folder. Under sdldrv it set 'screendepth' to 16 and "displaysettingsdialong" to 1.

    When it starts you get a CIDER options dialog. I turned OFF "FBO Backbuffer"

    Still crashed.

    Then I plugged in my 23" Cinema to the DVI port and played Battlefield off it. Turned the resolution to 1900x1200 and defaults to Low. Getting about 40fps. But it PLAYS!

    Obviously I need to retrace my steps and find the point where things break up again. I have a feeling it all about the external monitor and the resolution. I read a thread where someone had switched their 24" display for a 17" and it worked.

    MBP 2.4/Core 2 Duo
    4GB RAM
    Nvidia GeForce 8600M w/ 256MB
    23" Apple Cinema
    10.4.10
     
  14. drumminelsewher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #14
    Ok I'm in the same boat but with different issues.


    I have a macbook pro 17 inch with 2 gigs of ram
    My graphics card is a GeForce 8600M GT


    So I bought the game, couldn't wait man. I have bose 5 series computer speakers and couldn't wait to hear this game in it's glory. Only problem is the game WON'T WORK WITH MY SPEAKERS. It's all fuzzy and sounds terrible. I tried every configuration and e-mail EA and they simply said "we know we're having problems with usb speakers, nothing we can do". Ok so I still have my bose headphones, they'll do.


    As I play the first level I notice that there aren't any buildings..."no problem" must be a bland map. Then I start running in to "invisible" boundaries....maybe because it's so futuristic I say? So I try another map, same thing, then I go online, same thing. I can't see any buildings!

    Also trying to find the patch for mac I think is impossible. Everything is for windows on the EA site..I don't what to do.
     
  15. kkat69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #15
    That's because there isn't one. BF2142 is pre-patched to 1.25 and it's wrapped in a Virtual machine emulator called CIDER.

    What your experiencing sounds like the graphis for those objects either haven't had time to load or are refusing to load or whatever.

    I would try (try being the operative word) contacting EA, creating a ticket, make sure to take screenshots of this since they just might ask, also your system profiler in a text format will help as well. Plus any cider.crash.log files you find.
     
  16. drumminelsewher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #16
    A virtual emulator? I'm sorry but I'm lost....if you could explain that'd be awesome.

    I contacted them and they asked me to send them the complete specs of my computer. We will see what they say.
     
  17. kkat69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #17
    CIDER is a wrapper that allows windows exe's to run in the OSX environment. They have a similar vm/wrapper for linux type environments.
     
  18. drumminelsewher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #18
    Ah that makes sense, so is this why there are so many glitches?
     
  19. kkat69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #19
    I think that might be part of it.

    IMO I think it's a combination of Apple's ATI drivers, CIDER's wrapper, and EA's poor decision to use a wrapped game rather than have a company like Aspyr create native ports which would allow the game to run just as well as it's windows counterpart.

    Since Aspyr has written several of EA games before I'm surprised they didn't do this one. Who knows.

    Personally I'm holding out for this game to work sooner or later. I still have my windows version and Leopard is around the corner so we might see some improvements with graphics drivers and handling.
     
  20. kkat69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #20
    For those of you who don't know or don't understand the new Alum iMacs troubles running BF2142, I wanted to share some screenshots (these were also sent to EA, the response was "we might not have an answer for you on this anytime soon" which was a little unnerving.)

    Pre 1.0 Mac Update (locks up everytime not playable at all):

    [​IMG]

    Post 1.0 update and Post 1.1 update (no change):

    so good so far...
    [​IMG]

    ohhhhh snap, WTH?
    [​IMG]

    Just wanted to share these with the forums.

    FYI there was no difference between windowed and full screen.
     
  21. drumminelsewher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #21
    So far it's been 3 days without a word from EA games about my problems. This is just a real nightmare man, I spent 40 bucks on this game and haven't played it since.
     
  22. kkat69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #22
    I hear yah. Here's the last msg from the tech support from EA:

    Response (Alex I.) 09/14/2007 11:22 AM
    Greetings,

    We might not have a solution for this right away, but I will forward along all these details.
     
  23. drumminelsewher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #23
    well after finally getting back to me, they told me to set my video settings to low.

    After doing that it fixed the problem but it's frustrating because I have to run this game in the lowest settings? I bought a 3 thousand dollar computer to run this game in the lowest setting possible......

    Also the problem with my speakers is for all EA games I found out so that REALLY sucks.
     
  24. kkat69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #24
    what you see in my screenshots above ARE the lowest settings on my machine.
     
  25. noah03ark@hotma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #25
    on the macbook pro thing, i took charlie's advice and set the thing in the config to '1' and that is the farthest ive gotten: it has the battlefield logo, but it then says please unload the debugger...how do i fix this?
    thanks
     

Share This Page