Battlefield 2142 Startup Problem

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by thehoss, Aug 9, 2008.

  1. thehoss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #1
    I bought battlefield 2142 the other day at a apple store in NJ :apple: and I just got home excited to play my new game. I downloaded it and dragged the game icon into the applications folder and everything was ready, or so I thought, when I double clicked the battle field 2142 thing in my app folder a message appeared saying "You can't open the application 'Battlefield 2142' because it is not supported on this architecture." :confused: So I double clicked the cd image on my desktop and then double clicked the Battlefield 2142 image that opened up, I entered my cd key and registered my game for the hint. Then when i was done all that a picture of a walker popped up, the game was going to start :D. But then about 60 seconds later it said "Please ensure Battlefield 2142 installer disc is in the drive, select ok and restart the application." :eek: I had the only disc they gave me in the computer already. So I tried again and the same thing happened. Has this happened to anyone else, can someone help? Thanks.
     
  2. plexq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #2
    I get exactly the same problem. Brand new iMac :(. I have also had problems with Civ IV. I have had nothing but trouble with my mac. I am seriously considering going back to a PC. At least windows recognises every CD I put in :(.
     
  3. Ramused macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #3
    i have problems too but not in startup, in the game my mic doesn`t work....and in my game have bugs in the screen, the soldyer`s hand appear in the map, and lags: in fires time have much lag....

    MY mac: imac 24,3.06,4gb ddr2,8800gs......:mad::mad:
     
  4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #4
    Did everyone ensure you downloaded and installed all the patches?

    (per iMac in my sig) My installation runs great, Northern Strike also works.
     
  5. plexq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #5
    After patching - it now asks me for my registration key, then just stops running without doing anything more. Pretty much the same deal as Quake 4. I can't seem to find any log that indicates what might be the problem.
     
  6. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #6
    Try restarting the machine, then try to launch the game. If it doesn't launch, goto your activity monitor and make sure anything 'cider' and 'wineserver' are not running, if they are, force quit them, then try again.

    Use the finder to locate your crash log. An entry should be in there. Also, there might be a conflict somewhere, I know Application Enchancer or commonly called APE can wrech havoc on other applications. They always claim it doesn't but it does. If you have it installed, REMOVE IT. It's a junk product. It sometimes get installed as part of a package with another application so you might not know you have it.
     
  7. Ramused macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #7
    yah..my battlefield is 1.50 and not works correctly on my imac, yhe screen in not full...and have lags...the mic is work naw...

    tx
     
  8. plexq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #8
    Crash Logs

    I would be very interested to find the crash logs as it might provide some insight into my general Mac problems. None of my games work at this point. Any idea where it might be located? I had a look for it but I couldn't find it in any place that seemed obvious to me, but that's not saying much. I'm new to the Mac as a platform :D
     
  9. ninewhereman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #9
    I just downloaded the new patch and was excited to start playing again. Haven't played in a while. After install I load it up and start a single player game to warm up, and audio is acting funny, and the game is running slowly. I have it set much lower than I ever needed to before the update. Really disappointing.
     
  10. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #10
    It would help if ppl who don't have it listed, would post their system specs, especially the OP.

    Mine is in my sig and it runs like a champ, mic, audio, video work great.

    Also, make note of applications that are running while your running bf2142. Some may or may not have adverse affects, currently I know of one that has a history of doing this but I mentioned it above (APE).

    After re-reading the OP's post, almost sounds like an installation issue.

    Remove BF2142, including the preferences.

    After the disk is inserted, double click the disk on the desktop a window should pop up, then drag that icon to the app folder. When it's all done, install the updates then try to crank it up.
     
  11. thehoss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #11
    ok i downloaded all the new patches and nothing, i emailed ea, nothing yet, and as for my mac specs i have an iMac with a 2.0 ghz intel core duo processor, a 250gb serial ata hard drive, and an ati radeon hd 2400xt graphics processor, i think thats the important stuff, and if you need more its just a 20 inch iMac 2007 version
     
  12. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #12
    That should work. I wouldn't bother with EA. They aren't going to be able to help nor do they know how to troubleshoot a Mac. Sure they have some basic scripts, beyond that you'll waste time waiting on responses, only to find the response scripted and they'll end up sending you somewhere else.

    I'd contact Transgaming since they wrote the wrapper (CIDER). They'll need your crash log so you'll have to find it (finder search 'crash' outta do it) and those guys can pin point the issue.

    There's a user here that works for Transgaming and has help myself and others in the past. Do a forum search for BF2142 or Battlefield 2142 and you can find him in a couple posts. GavinX or something like that?


    Either way, they are the ones that can help, not EA.

    EDIT:

    Ok found the guy, his forum username is: gavriels

    http://forums.macrumors.com/member.php?u=124514

    He has helped myself as well as others with CIDER wrapped games. At least him or someone he knows can decipher the crash log to pin point the actual culprit.
     
  13. thehoss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #13
    ok thanks ill pm him when i can hopefully he can help
     
  14. gavriels macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #14
    The problem sounds like a copy protection issue. Do you have any external DVD players attached to your system? If so, try removing them.

    Other than that, about the only things that should be able to cause a problem like that are a bad disk, or a bad DVD drive.

    You may have to bring the disk back to where you got it and ask for a replacement disk. If it's an Apple store, ask them if you can install the game on one of their systems to show them the problem you're seeing. If you're not seeing the problem on their machine, you may have a problem with your DVD player, I'm afraid.
     
  15. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #15
    I can second the installing on a machine at the Apple store. I did that earlier when we (iMac alum's) had graphics issues with BF2142. The genius said "it's no biggie, we wipe these machines at the end of each day" so that should narrow what's going on with your installation.
     
  16. thehoss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #16
    i would do that but i bought it in nj and i live 4-5 hrs away :p
     

Share This Page