Battlefield 2142 without DVD?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Oraichu, Mar 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oraichu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #1
    Hello

    I got Battlefield 2142 installed on my MacBook Pro.

    But I cannot find my DVD anymore, so I was wondering if it's possible to play without the DVD inserted?

    I have tried using some no-cd cracks I found, but I belive they are for earlier versions, and not Battlefield 2142 1.4 (941a). So when I start up the game, it always asks me to update the Battlefield. But I could just hit cancel and continue, but at server list, it only shows 3-4 servers, and I am unable to join them because it says I got modified files.

    I've always been annoyed with having to use the DVD when playing, since I cant just carry it around with me at all times. So would be really nice if someone had a fix to make it run without DVD, and something that worked for valid online play.. not just cracked for singleplayer or fake serial. ;)
     
  2. byocrysis macrumors regular

    byocrysis

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #2
    Cracks don't work for playing newer games online. I suggest you hunt down that DVD because its most likely the only way you are going to be able to play online:(
     
  3. Oraichu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #3
    That really really sucks. Don't want to buy a new copy of the game. ><
     
  4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #4
    You could (I haven't looked if ones available) torrent search a disk image then keep it on your HD and mount it when needed.

    Not sure if it would work.

    Also you can apply a windows branded no-dvd crack by going inside the app and doing some copy and paste in the c_drive/program files/ea/etcetc. Not sure if this works with bf2142 there was some discussion in these forums on that issue but didn't read to much on it.
     
  5. Oraichu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #5
    I have downloaded the disc image, but not sure how to "Mount it" in Mac OS. At least not in the sense that it think its a actual DVD, I can just mount the .dmg like any other .dmg-file.
    (I dont know policy on "piracy" on this forum, but I dont really look on this as piracy since I have the valid key after all, and have purchased it earlier)

    And I did try using a no-dvd crack for mac... but I guess the crack was outdated or something, since the game noticed I had changed the files and wouldnt connect to the server. Also it asked me to update when I booted up the game, so I think the outdated crack made that update notice come - even after I had originally updated to latest version.

    There must be some solution out there :p I doubt I am the only one who wants to play this game without having to use their DVD all the time.
     
  6. frankov macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #6
    I'm having the same problem as Oraichu, I have the PC version, my serial works during the installation and I can play online using my EA account but only on some 1.25 servers. I miss my 1.40...

    I tried burning the image with the Disk Utility, but the game doesn't recognize it as an original DVD. My next step is to try to patch the game to 1.40 and try to apply the Windows no-dvd inside the game package. I will post my progress.

    On another note, isn't there a way to mount the image as a DVD disk ? Something like Daemon Tools for Mac ?

    EDIT: Copying the Windows no-Dvd in the package doesn't work either.
     
  7. petter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #7
    Hello guys.

    Ive been playing bf 2142 as well for a while now. And its starting to get really annoying to insert the DVD every time. I tried to do a disk image and mount it, but this doesn´t work with BF2142. And im sorry to tell you, but yow simply have to play it with the DVD - there is no other way. If you have another game you want to play without CD/DVD there is a excellent explaination right here: http://www.macinstruct.com/node/116
     
  8. rodin1960 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    #8
    'Can't located DVD Rom'?

    Hello, I'm just purchased Battlefield 2142 and I'm very keen to play the game! The problem is with my Intel iMac, the internal DVD drive will not eject the current disk (The Sims 2). I have contacted my local Apple tech. They say I need to purchase a new DVD drive. A new Apple DVD drive costs around NZ$750 and a used internal drive around NZ$500! So, I have an external DVD drive. I'm able to play other EA games with this external drive. So, why can I not play Battlefield 2142? I have found in EA tech support "What do I do if I get an error message 'Can't located DVD Rom'?" and it says I need to use the internal DVD drive. Well, I can not. Is there a patch or something that will allow me to play via the external drive? Thank you. I'm running MacOS 10.52, 2 GHz Intel Core Duo iMac with 2 GB of Ram (667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM). :confused:
     
  9. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #9
    I have 2 internal DVD drives and BF2142 will only play if the disk is in the one from which it was installed.

    I would suspect that it would run so long as you installed it from the external drive, but if you installed from internal and then try to run from external you'll have a problem.

    Verify if you don't already own the hardware, but that's what I've noted on my system.
     
  10. superswiegie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #10
    heey every body i have the same problem i also dont want to use the disk but i dont have internet on my room so the online modus is not usefull for me. can any one tell how to fix this? i have googled voor ages for a no disk crack for battlefield 2142 but cant find anything will someone help me .
    thanks.
     
  11. ajdcolcord macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #11
    To force eject on a mac, try turning off your computer, and click and hold the mouse button on startup. It sometimes takes a while to do, but it usually works.
     
  12. wobert macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #12
    If you open package contenets and put a windows no cd crack in c_drive/program files/ea/battlefield 2142 if will work
     
  13. halloo2011 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #13
    GO TO This website you can find BF2142 Crack www.battlefield2142nodvd.co.cc
     
  14. halloo2011 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #14
    try this www.battlefield2142nodvd.co.cc
     
  15. Dudefiftyone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #15
    MountMe

    Try using MountMe. It automatically mounts the disk image for any game, as long as u have the disk image. u just drag it into MountMe andit does the rest.

    Hope this helps.

    -Dudefiftyone
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page