Battlefield 3 specs - imac good enough?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Travis Bickle, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. Travis Bickle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #1
    found these (unofficial) specs for BF3:

    1. Minimum
      Hard Drive Space: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version
      OS: Windows Vista or Windows 7
      Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHzRAM2GB
      Video Card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card

    2. Recommended
      Hard Drive Space: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version
      OS: Windows 7 64-bit
      Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPURAM 4GB
      Video Card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850

    i'm looking to get the 21.5" imac:

    • 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
    • 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    • 1TB Serial ATA Drive
    • AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512MB GDDR5

    sometime this year and wondered how does the Radeon HD 6770M compare to the recommended Radeon HD 6850 ?

    Before i get flamed i know that imacs are not primarily gaming rigs and i have indeed built gaming rigs in the past but as i'm getting one for the first time and intend to keep it for some considerable time i wondered how good it would be for playing the odd game of Battlefield? I've only ever really played the BF series of games going back to 1942 (still the best and WW2 is so much better than modern as a theatre of war - but that's another debate) and hoped that i could fire it up to maybe get in touch with some old clan buddies to reminisce and maybe frag a few of them on my shiny new imac ;)

    cheers all.
     
  2. kixx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #2
    So far Bad Company 2, the latest title is very demanding.

    My gaming rig has 4.0Ghz i7 930, GTX470 in Sli, 6G of Corsair Dominator. It runs around 80fps on max setting on 1920x1080.

    Using medium setting, same resolution and only on one GTX470 (no sli) i get on average 60fps.

    Really i dont think you can run that with Macs. Never look for those games minimum requirement, 2.0Ghz core2duo would either take 20minutes or crash instantly when you load a game.

    Anyways even if you can run it on a Mac, the keyboard and the mouse (or even trackpad) will not help to your gaming, if you switch for a gaming set, really compromises the 'elegant' factor of an iMac.
     
  3. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    You probably won't be able to run it above medium. Bad Company 2 was a doozie, and I expect no less from Battlefield 3.
     
  4. FrankySavvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #4
    I would get the highest end iMac, the BTO model.

    Quad Core i7 3.4GHZ
    4GB System Memory
    AMD Radeon HD 6970M with 2GB GDDR5 Video Ram

    Should get you the Medium-High Settings, at least default.

    Thats what I will be ordering in about a month and a half.
     
  5. sth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    The old world
    #5
    Of course it will be able to run it, the question is how well. The 6770M will probably be fine for playable framerates at low- to medium settings at most.

    If you want to use an iMac for a bit of gaming, the 27" with the 6970M is the best option. Skip the i7 upgrade if you're on a budget, the graphics card is all that matters in most 3D games.

    BTW: The 6970M is actually a slightly underclocked 6850, but don't expect it to run high settings at the iMac's native resolution.

    Macs will play that game just as good as any normal PC with similar hardware would. Just don't use the highest settings and you'll be fine.

    *rofl*
     
  6. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I would not play it with anything less than the GTX 460/HD 6850.
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    My son plays bc2 on his 2.4ghz/4gb/hd2600 iMac. It runs on lowest settings but it's not great. On a 6770m, bf3 will probably also run on low settings at modest frame rates. He's moving over to a PC for this and a few other recent games.
     
  9. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    From what I can tell the 6770M should perform around about half that of the 6970M.
     
  10. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    The high end 27" meets the recommended specs for Battlefield 3.
     
  11. Raistlin, Sep 27, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011

    Raistlin macrumors newbie

    Raistlin

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    #11
    I've been using bootcamp on a 27in for about a year now, and I can play just about everything on medium settings.

    That being said, I do not recommend buying an iMac in hopes of playing BF3. I am currently in the beta for Battlefield 3 and can't play it. Unfortunately Apple does not provide the latest drivers for the graphics cards in the bootcamp package (they're always a year or more behind the curve). I've tried installing a couple of different drivers from AMD, neither of which fully take hold.

    The problem is that some games require you to have the latest driver sets and refuse to play without them. Battlefield 3 just happens to be one of these games. I get an error stating "Detected AMD driver 10.7; minimum 11.7; please update drivers before playing the game." Some people claim to have better luck with the mobility drivers over the bootcamp drivers that AMD offers. I've seen no benefits to either of them as far as being able to play BF3.
     
  12. derbothaus, Sep 27, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011

    derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #12
    No it doesn't. It meets "minimum" by a good margin. The recommended is a desktop 6950. That card is way faster than the 6970m. The 6950 is closer in performance to my 5870 which is faster than 5770, 6850 (6970m based on), 6870, 6950. I know it is all confusing to people.;) The desktop 6970 is almost 75% faster than the mobile one.
    And no one is talking resolution. You could probably play just fine at 1280x720 but no way in hell you are doing 2560x1440 at pretty much any setting other than lowest.

    Here are the REAL specs:
    Minimum System Requirements
    OS: Windows Vista (Service Pack 2) 32-Bit
    Processor: 2 GHz Dual Core (Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHZ or Althon X2 2.7 GHz)
    Memory: 2 GB
    Hard Drive: 20 GB
    Graphics Card (AMD): DirectX 10.1 compatible with 512 MB RAM (ATI RADEON 3000, 4000, 5000 OR 6000 series, with ATI RADEON 3870 or higher performance)
    Graphics Card (NVIDIA): DirectX 10.0 compatible with 512 MB RAM (NVIDIA GEFORCE 8, 9, 200, 300, 400 OR 500 series with NVIDIA GEFORCE 8800 GT or higher performance)
    Sound card : DirectX compatible
    Keyboard and Mouse
    DVD ROM Drive

    Recommended System Requirements
    OS: Windows 7 64-Bit
    Processor: Quad-Core CPU
    Memory: 4 GB
    Hard Drive: 20 GB
    Graphics Card: DirectX 11 compatible with 1024 MB RAM (NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 560 or ATI RADEON 6950)
    Sound Card: DirectX compatible
    Keyboard and Mouse
    DVD ROM Drive
     
  13. desudesu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #13
    I've been playing the BF3 alpha and beta on my current gen high-end iMac with the 2gb 6970m, ssd etc.

    With all settings set at medium on a resolution of 1920x1080 it flows like a charm, no lag and no issues at all. It just looks amazing. I could probably tweak it a lot more as I use a older version of the catalyst drivers and the game requires the latest to actually run but I bypassed that as I was way to eager to start playing.
     
  14. MrCod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    #14
    I can't even get it to run. It returns an error 'Detected AMD Driver Version 11.2; minimum version 11.7; please update drivers on http://www.amd.com before playing the game.'

    I have an iMac 2011 with Radeon HD 6970m with 2Gb - updated drivers from amd.com - same error. Not sure what to do.
     
  15. Nyalotha macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #15
    High end iMac 21.5" here, upgraded the ram to 12 gig, can run the Beta on high at 60 fps. I know the Beta isn't true representation of high graphics so I'm expecting low/med. :)
     
  16. TenaciousNinja9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #16
    Driver Issues

    Had a lot of issue with drivers on my 2011 21.5" iMac with Battlefield 3 Beta tried to install AMD drivers, but could not get them to work. Fell back on Bootcamp, but the driver versions on there are fine for older games, but they don't update them fast enough for newer games. The beta chugs along on 11.1 which is what bootcamp has avaliable the 11.7 that is needed is not. Don't really have time to mess around with my computer like this being in university. I guess whatever will just have to play Battlefield 3 on my 360 at some point or wait until bootcamp updates. I am studying interactive arts and sciences a computer game development program should go do some school work on that, but if anyone has a insight about drivers solutions available it may save me a lot of guess work.
     
  17. JS77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #17
    Log into th battlefield battle log thingumajig and there's a notice to download the latest bf3 specific drivers. I had to install those and then it worked fine.

    Performs really well too :)
     
  18. Raistlin macrumors newbie

    Raistlin

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    #18
    I finally got the beta AMD driver 11.8 to stick. Game is running good. Now if I could just figure out how to change all the settings without actually being live in a game!
     
  19. EricT43 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #19
    I just switched from a PC with Core 2 Duo, 4GB, and a HD6850 1GB. To a 27" iMac with the 6970m 1GB, i7, and 4GB of RAM. It runs SC2 almost as well as my PC did, but at native resolution, whereas my PC was 1900x1200 or something close to that.

    So I'd say that the top 27" model should just about meet the recommended settings, which would run well on medium settings, more or less. Seems like to run games at max settings you need to go pretty far beyond the developer's specs.
     

Share This Page