BB user adjusting to the iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by robothero, May 28, 2009.

1. robothero macrumors 6502

robothero

So later this summer I'll finally be making the jump from BlackBerry to iPhone. I've sorta been on this kick for the past 9 months or so about getting rid of clutter and consolidation, so I sold off my 5th gen 30gb iPod (amongst other things) and am planning on getting the new iPhone whenever it's released to aid on that journey.

Now, I've been using a BlackBerry for the past 3 years, so I'm really used to the way they function, but I'm hoping to get some feedback from those of you who are BB converts yourself, or have experience with both platforms on what's similar, what's vastly different, what kind of options should I enable/disable to I guess make the transition easier.

If the thread fills up with lots of good information, I'll update this post with all of the suggestions/feedback for any other jumpers who happen across it in the future.

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

As a former and current BB user, I missed the push e-mail, that's about it. Copy and paste were a thing as well.

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

What do you mean (an old BB user here), I get my emails both personal and corporate on my iPhone just as fast as on my client, i.e., the iPhone has push email.

4. OriginalMasta macrumors member

I've used a blackberry 8820 I recall for about 25 days before I got this iPhone 3G. Let me say that it's a good quality phone. BUT compared to iPhone's apps alone, it doesn't stand a chance.

Emails are lame compared to the iPhone (the way it's presented rocks on the iPhone). Everything else about the blackberry is so overrated.

I'll tell you what I did miss - not having to pay $150+ for a family share plan that includes the iPhone and it's rip off data plan. Not to forget that ridiculous $30 text message plan for family package.