Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TWHH

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 12, 2008
Question for UK folks:

I'm thinking of ditching Sky and using Now TV for my Murdoch fix. However, using this for via a Now TV app doesn't give access to a iPlayer/ITV Hub etc. So I'm thinking of adopting the newest Apple TV - one box with everything on it (Netflix, BBC, ITV etc).

However, one thing I do like about the Sky HD box that I have is that with all the catch up services you select a show to stream, and rather than you watching the stream as it arrives through your modem, you can leave it to download (either in a cache or onto the HD - I'm no expert), which reduces the threat of a bandwidth based buffering.

Does anyone know if the Apple TV uses it's onboard storage to do something like this?

Thanks

eyeballtickler7

macrumors member
Feb 24, 2015
Question for UK folks:

I'm thinking of ditching Sky and using Now TV for my Murdoch fix. However, using this for via a Now TV app doesn't give access to a iPlayer/ITV Hub etc. So I'm thinking of adopting the newest Apple TV - one box with everything on it (Netflix, BBC, ITV etc).

However, one thing I do like about the Sky HD box that I have is that with all the catch up services you select a show to stream, and rather than you watching the stream as it arrives through your modem, you can leave it to download (either in a cache or onto the HD - I'm no expert), which reduces the threat of a bandwidth based buffering.

Does anyone know if the Apple TV uses it's onboard storage to do something like this?

Thanks

Unfortunately the iPlayer app does not work in this way on the ATV. It's still in its infancy and is a very basic app which doesn't even allow you to use your BBC account to add favorites etc. Hopefully this will improve over time.