BBC iPlayer goes HD (ish)

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by stridemat, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/8008886.stm

    Just read this article on the BBC website. To try it out I watched the Chinese grand prix in 720p (ish). It is alot better and looks crisp on my 22" HDTV but it does make the fans on my macbook scream a bit! Also Im glad Im on an unlimited BB package as this would eat up any allowances really quickly.
     
  2. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Also a cool feature which I forgot to mention is that it changes the quality depending on the speed of your internet connection. So if the network is congested then the programs have a smaller file size.

    Probably the geek in me but this is pretty cool!;)
     
  3. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #3
    Watched it on the 30" ACD and it was pixellated LOL. Waiting for 1600P streaming:p. Did you sign up for the beta testing thing?
     
  4. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #4
    This has been known for 4 days now lol but I have yet to see anything that looks anywhere near HD (Like on ABC/FOX/NBC/CBS in US), kind of bums me out :(
     
  5. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Yeah signed up for the BBC labs thing.


    LOL I don' think my internet connection could handle that 1600p, I only just get 8MB. Its defiantly better quality and a step in the right direction though.
     
  6. The Phazer macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    The actual HD programmes have only launched this afternoon - the programmes people previously watched are just in a higher def, but not the actual new HD content).

    The only stuff that is going to be in HD on iPlayer is stuff actually aired on the HD channel, so no F1 (which isn't actually filmed in HD, save for two trial races).

    Phazer
     
  7. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #7
    The Phazer, which programmes are in HD (if you know)

    and FYI F1 is filmed in HD just BBC doesn't air in HD for some stupid reason:mad:
     
  8. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I stand corrected. So you mean that only programs like for example Heroes which are actually shown on BBC HD will be streamed from iPlayer in HD?
     
  9. JG271 macrumors 6502a

    JG271

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Haha, my internet hardly handles normal iPlayer at peak times. Besides, we've got sky HD, so we already get BBC 1 HD.
     
  10. The Phazer macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    The ones on this list - http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/tv/bbc_hd. The schedule at the side allows you to see that's planned for the rest of the week.

    It really isn't. Only the Singapore and one other race (I forget which one). The cameras are HD, but all the other equipment isn't yet so they're not outputting HD.

    Bernie is in charge of the recording of the race, rather than the broadcasters.

    Yup. But I don't think Heroes will be. US studios very funny about selling HD rights for on demand. The BBC3 airing isn't on Player either.

    Phazer
     
  11. AppleMatt macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I don't understand - there's been a 'watch in HD' button on my iPlayer for months?

    What's the difference?

    AppleMatt
     
  12. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #12
    No that was the Watch in High Resolution, not the same.
     
  13. The Phazer macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    Well actually it was watch in high quality, same resolution but a better codec and higher encoding rate.

    These streams are higher resolution.

    Phazer
     
  14. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #14
    I trust you can download HD episodes? Don't think my 1mbps connection will be able to handle HD streaming!
     
  15. The Phazer macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    Yup.

    Phazer
     
  16. Grasbak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    well I am impressed! I just got the mac in my signature and recently got upgraded to 18meg broadband. I watched a few mins of no 1 ladies detective agency - it started instantly and looked pretty good to me! Much better than freeview (via eyetv) on the same mac.
     
  17. yorkshire macrumors 6502a

    yorkshire

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
  18. Superdelphinus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #18
  19. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    What a useful post you made???? Pointing out:rolleyes: a month old mistake which we have already discussed was wrong
     
  20. nickarmadillo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #20
    Any way to get iPlayer to work in the US. My girlfriend is English and really misses British TV. She just recently moved over here with me and has paid her TV license fee, so its a shame that we haven't been able to get it to work so far. She really wants to see the rest of big brother.
     
  21. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #21
    This is for the BBC iPlayer not Channel 4, anyway all you need is a UK IP.
     
  22. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Not strictly legal but you could use a uk based proxy .....
     
  23. djellison macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #23
    F1 isn't broadcast in Hd by the BBC - so you're not going to get top quality there.
     
  24. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #24
    Congrats on being a month and a bit late to answer it:rolleyes:
     
  25. nickarmadillo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #25
    How could this be done?
     

Share This Page