BD-Rom Pioneer installed - won't open in either bay!?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by HeadshotSK, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. HeadshotSK macrumors member

    HeadshotSK

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    #1
    early 2009 MP

    I've never had the best of luck with drives in these stupid things but man, this thing won't open in either bay!

    Any advice on something I'm missing here?
    It clicks like it wants to, I just can't tell if the MP door is too small or the drive isn't high enough, or if the Pioneer drive is faulty or not!

    thanks and any advice would be appreciated. I got this on NewEgg, but OWC sells the same one for the MP's so I have to assume it's proper hardware...

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827129071
     
  2. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #2
    Remove the front bezel cover off the cd tray? It may be too bulky and not for through the opening. It also has to push lever that pushes the door down so the tray can slide out.

    It may have to be powered up externally so you can open the tray and then pop off the cover on the front of the tray.
     
  3. CrazyNurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #3
    Did you remove the tray bezel off your new drive? The actuating door of the Mac Pro optical drives are cool but really short in height.
     
  4. HeadshotSK thread starter macrumors member

    HeadshotSK

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for the heads up guys! Appreciated.

    So...if I'm reading this right, I need to open it while the machine is ON and the door is off with the double drive assembly housing out?
    Is that safe?

    I'll look again, hope I don't screw up the new drive. Once the tray is out is it apparent where the clips or removal tabs are?

    I'll give it a shot!
     
  5. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #5
    Here is a video link to help you remove the front bezel.
     
  6. HeadshotSK thread starter macrumors member

    HeadshotSK

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    #6
    Got it! But SYstem profiler isn't recognizing either drive now, and of course the eject button doesn't work on my keyboard.

    I REALLY hope it shows up on a reboot!

    ----------

    Voila....they're live!
    Weird cuz there's enough juice going in there for the button to open them.
    Reboot and both are opening.

    Where's that tasty little morsel...oh yes, Mac Blu-Ray Player! :-D

    thanks again guys!
    This forum is the best and most responsive out there.
     
  7. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #7
    Enjoy. I think I've watched only a handful of blu-rays. And that was in my Mac mini. I've yet to touch my blu ray player in my receiver lol. Figured it be a useless upgrade for the MP. For me anyways.
     
  8. HeadshotSK thread starter macrumors member

    HeadshotSK

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    #8
    OK here's the goal:

    Forget Mac Blu-Ray player. Not worth the $30/yr $40 lifetime license.
    MakeMKV is freeware!

    Yes, and now as an experiment, Elysium is in the tray, MakeMKV is loaded up and open, and to the specified folder of my behest is now ripping the title to an MKV file. They say it's close to real time crunching, however after 10 minutes I now have 25 to go.

    Will crunch the 26gb worth of data and who knows how large the file will be, but it's apparently going to be lossless. Probably not that far off, maybe 18gb.

    Then I will be able to use MediaLink (mac pref pane extension by Nullriver:$20) to beam to Airport Extreme in attic, and through my 90 year old joists and plaster to my PS3 in my frontroom (that's Chicagoan for LR).

    PS3 picks up whatever hard disk folders & iTunes Playlists I choose, and said MKV file magically appears, DTS HiDef surround and all. Can even be copied to PS3 hard drive but don't know why I'd do that when Costco has 4tb externals for like $140.

    Think about it....
    What a magical time we do live in.

    (of course, per suggestions from the MakeMKV site, this is for backing up owned media ;)
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    If you want to save a ton of time, you can also just put the Blu-Ray disc directly in the PS3 drive. :D
     
  10. HeadshotSK thread starter macrumors member

    HeadshotSK

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

Share This Page