BD/SD DVD backup m4v's tagging chapters, etc without changing quality

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by 3282868, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. 3282868 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #1
    I've backed up BD/SD DVD's then used Handbrake for m4v formats w/ 5.1 or 6-channel audio. I need to tag them w/o losing quality. I have used the "Batch Encode.workflow" from the guide yet the m4v files output to 2 channel audio.

    Setup:

    ● 2010 Mac Pro 3.33GHz 6-Core Westmere
    ● LG BD-RE BH10LS30
    ● OCZ Vertex 2 SSD (which replaced the BTO SuperDrive)
    ● External USB Superdrive

    ● 50" Pioneer Elite
    ● Pioneer VSX-33 Receiver (supports full audio codecs w/ ~5 HDMI inputs and 1 output to Pioneer Elite)
    ● AppleTV 2 via HDMI

    I have made full backups, audio being crucial.

    Process:

    1. SD DVD's w/ Fairmount and BD w/ Handbrake

    2. Handbrake to convert ripped backups:

    Video:
    ● m4v H.264 (x264) with "Large file size" checked
    ● Framerate: Same as source
    ● Video Quality: Average Bitrate (kbps) 1500, 2-pass encoding w/ turbo first pass

    Audio: Need 5.1/6 channel discrete/full quality
    ● English 5.1/6-channel discrete
    ● Codec: AC3 (I have read AAC Core Audio is best yet some receivers may not process it)
    ● Mixdown: 6-channel discrete for full audiobackup (over Dolby Digital II)
    ● Subtitles: None
    ● Chapters: Create chapter markers

    Standard and Blu-Ray DVD m4v:
    ● Codec: H.264, AC3, Text
    ● Color Profile: SD (6-1-6)
    ● Audio Channels: 6

    "Batch Encode.workflow" for tagging seems to create m4v files w/ lower audio quality andbrake w/ 6-channel discrete audio). Attached are example images for the Handbrake and "Batch Encode.workflow":

    Handbrake m4v:
    [​IMG]

    Batch Encode.workflow m4v:
    [​IMG]

    Since I want to tag the m4v's with chapter names, movie poster, etc I don't want to re-encode the file to a lesser quality. I have read the guide but have not learned of a way in doing so. Can any one help?

    Thanks and sorry for the long post, I hope reading it helps others which is why I added a lot of information.
     
  2. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #2
    The "Audio channels: 2" you're seeing is for the first audio track only. You'll notice that there are two audio tracks, the first being AAC and the second being AC3. The AAC track is listed first as per Apple spec and is 2-channel; the AC3 track comes second and will be 5.1 if the source was 5.1. The Apple TV will play the 5.1 AC3 track, the iPhone/iPad/iPod will play the 2-channel AAC track.
     
  3. 3282868 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #3
    Shut up! Seriously? So even though the Handbrake m4v lists the file as 6-channel discrete, the workflow m4v breaks it down to only the two audio tracks needed, stereo for iDevices and 5.1 AC3 for AppleTV and other devices, AND compresses the file.

    So I should use the Batch Encode.workflow. Interesting.

    Thanks mate! I greatly appreciate your help. :)
     
  4. 3282868 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #4
    I checked the batch encoded m4v's with Quicktime 10.0/7/VLC and they all display 2-channel stereo. Only the Hankbrake m4v's show 5.6/6-channel discrete. On my AppleTV 2 playing through a brand new Pioneer VSX-33 and on my 50" Pioneer Elite it doesn't list 5.1 whereas the Handbreak m4v does.This doesn't add up. :confused:
     
  5. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #5
    For the love of god, don't use Finder or QT for checking media file's specs, use Media Info Mac.

    QT doesn't support AC3 AFAIK, so it's likely that it's just not showing that stream.
     
  6. 3282868, Mar 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2011

    3282868 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #6
    I did and I played both on my AppleTV. The batch encoded DOES NOT play in anything other than 2 channel stereo while the hand braked version does.

    No need to get bent out of shape. If you can't read my post fully and offer and any help, then please move on and calm down.

    Look, is there any way to simply tag chapters, info, etc for an already converted m4v? If I can simply use handbrake then tag the movie that is all I need. Somewhere along the way in that guides supplied batch encoding workflow it's not playing well. I don't mind using handbrake to make the m4v then tagging it without re-encoding.
     
  7. Ritsuka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #7
    You need both the 2ch aac track and the 6ch ac-3 track. And then enable the dolby digital from the atv prefs.
    A single ac-3 track might work now on the atv, but it doesn't on QuickTime, iTunes, iPhone, and who knows if it will continue to work even on the atv.
     
  8. gunthermic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #8
    I concurr. Ensure you have Dobly Dig selected at Auto in your ATV.

    How do you have your audio going to your stereo?
     
  9. rayward macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #9
    Meta X and Subler both work well on a Mac for tagging a previously encoded file, and both a free downloads. I use Meta X first, as it almost always pulls the correct chapter tags from TagChimp (a free service that requires you sign up with a user name which you then record in Meta X), and Subler to handle the Content ID and HD tag for combining HD & SD versions of the same movie into one entry in my iTunes library.
     
  10. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #10
    My point was that finder might only show the number of channels in the first track of the file, I've since tested my theory and it does. Regardless, I just suggested using a more appropriate tool for the job, I did not say it was the answer to your question...

    Anyway, I can't be bothered to deal with your hostility. MetaX is what you want btw, works well.
     
  11. 3282868, Mar 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2011

    3282868 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #11
    I'm running HDMI for video and audio (ATV2 DD set to Auto) through my Pioneer VSX-33 (it has five HDMI input's and one output feeding to my Pioneer 50" Elite Plasma and supports 5.1/7.1 and up surround sound). It processes Netflix now on 5.1 and any iTunes available 5.1 media. The DVD's I have ripped directly through Handbrake play perfectly, but using the batch encode process instead (which is awesome BTW, chapters/movie summaries/images are perfect!) seems to break it down into 2 channels as stated but these channels aren't different, they process through my ATV2 in stereo unlike the direct Handbrake m4v's (I also have my 2010 3.33 6-Core Mac Pro hooked up to a Denon receiver through the digital optical out and the same thing happens directly off my Mac).


    Awesome! Thanks for the pointers. I'll definitely give this a go.

    Thank you for your efforts, and my apologies for misinterpreting this:

    It seemed you were being condescending and hostile. I realize it may be difficult to read the intended tone in messages (one of the reasons I tend to hate online communications, ironic as I work in the field), however 99% of the time commentary on MacRumors tends to lean towards a hostile and insulting/personal nature (ego's, the anonymity of the internet, people taking their anger out on others). It seems we both misread each others intentions. My sincerest apologies if that was not your intent and I never mean any malice.

    Thank you guys for all your help. I make a point in helping any one I can on these forums as we were all once beginners. :)

    PS Gonna check out my setup, give it a full hardware and system check to ensure there is nothing wrong. Doubtful, but man I would love for those batch encoded m4v's to work 100%!
     
  12. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #12
    I was referring to the 'don't get bent out of shape thing'.

    I was just trying to emphasise that Finder really wasn't an adequate tool for the job, I didn't mean any offence by it. I think we misinterpreted each other :)
     
  13. 3282868 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #13
    lol We did. My apologies again. My friends and I joke that WWIII will be started with a misread email or text. I've seen so many friendships break because of people misreading tone. Gotta love the net. I was thinking about life ten years ago, and what I did with all the time I have now online using computers more and more. It has become such a virtual global world these days, it's fascinating and frightening at the same time. Living in NYC, there are days I don't leave my apartment or building as I work from home, have a full Equinox gym and food delivered. Such irony lol.
     
  14. gunthermic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #14
    Something is up. I have done well over 1200 encodes using those scripts and 5.1 plays perfect on each one with out doing anything.

    Also when you start a movie, hold down center button. Which brings up chapter, press left to go to in movie audio and switch audio track does it change?
     
  15. 3282868 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #15
    Serious egg on my face

    Ok guys, so I have a serious amount of egg on my face. I reset some parameters in my Pioneer AVR such as speaker settings, codecs, HDMI output, and MCACC processing so it does support AAC (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pio/staticfiles/index.html). All the batch encoded m4v's now play perfect surround sound, so I can use the batch encode.workflow and save hella time.

    I am so sorry for all the trouble, and I thank you guys so much for your help. It's great to have forums like these, and thanks for taking the time in teaching me more about AAC/AC3 codecs. :)
     

Share This Page