Beach Ball problem with Safari

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jableskg, Jul 20, 2009.

1. jableskg macrumors regular

I have a brand new MBP 13' 2.26 with 2GB of ram. Its only a week old. Just today i noticed i've had a few beach balls spin while i was using Firefox. I'm new to Mac so i have no idea if this is a software problem perhaps with Firefox or Mac OSX or a potential hardware problem. Any suggestions on what i should do when this happens?

2. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

upinflames900

If they aren't spinning for a long time then don't worry about it. Those are simply like saying system processing.

3. jableskg thread starter macrumors regular

They spin for like 30 seconds. I have Firefox minimized on the dock streaming Sirius radio right now and i'm using Safari to browse.

4. NovemberWhiskey macrumors 68030

NovemberWhiskey

Do you have the 5400 RPM model?

I am having freezing/beachballing problems on my 5400 rpm mbp 17 (3.06, 4 gb).

It freezes for 1 minute at a time, roughly 10-20 times throughout the day.

If you put your ear close to the computer, you can hear the HDD sputter when it unfreezes.

5. jableskg thread starter macrumors regular

Yes

6. entity macrumors regular

This happens quite a bit to me too using Firefox 3.5.1.

Sometimes a message appears saying a script is hung, etc. But that never happened in the beta builds. Weird.

7. jableskg thread starter macrumors regular

I'm noticing it happening a lot when i click on hyperlinks or type.. It just happened a few more time while using Safari now. This is the EXACT reason why i tossed my Dell laptop in the trash and was hoping my problems were over. :confused:

8. NovemberWhiskey macrumors 68030

NovemberWhiskey

I am pretty sure it is an HDD problem. Next time it beachballs, listen closely to see if the HDD makes anoise when it unfreezes.

I thought Apples were "just supposed to work".