Beachballs, apps wont force quit, have to restart.. HELP

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by okrelayer, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. okrelayer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #1
    For the last 3 days i will be in an application (safari 4,actually) and the app will give me the beachball. I have seen the beachball many times in safari 4 so i would just force quit the app. Well in doing that its still shown with the blue dot under it on the dock, aswell as in the force quit menu.

    I go to open another app (say iphoto or firefox) and i also get the beachball, and i try to forcequit the app, and it will not force quit.

    Only way to cure it is to manually restart my macbook pro.

    (i have a unibody 2.4 macbook pro btw_)

    i have repaired permissions
    deleted and reinstalled safari
    and ran weekly/monthly scripts via cocktail.

    what else can i do? I am going on Holiday next week, and having to deal with this issue would be a bit of a pain!
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Have you installed anything, added any RAM, etc?
     
  3. okrelayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #3
    Nothing has been installed recently. The last big change was 3 days ago during a power outage. It happened over night and my mbp wouldn't go into sleep mode until I restarted. After that all was well until this.

    After a restart it's seemingly alright for a few hours then I get the beachball suddenly. It happens in safari it seeMs. But it could be because I'm in the browser the most

    I did install ram now have 4 gigs, but that was months ago
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  5. okrelayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #5
    I will try that later. I bet the power failure effected my ram and such (as things were ok before it). Hope this solves it! Any other ideas??
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    You can reset the SMC while you are at it.
     
  7. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
  8. rockstarjoe macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #8
    Any peripherals? My Western Digital Mybook causes this to happen occasionally.
     
  9. okrelayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #9
    I also have a western digital mybook. I have had it for over a year, i keep my time machine backups and most of my iTunes library on there. These problems JUST started. Never had a problem until now

    When i came home i did the PRAM and SMC resets. I was unable to use the computer for a bit afterwords, but now i am on it. I am running more intense apps to see if i could trigger the issue again. All seems well so far. I really hope the resets fixed whatever might have been the problem.

    Worse comes to worse, do a complete reinstall, but i would rather not do that.

    thanks guys for your imput. Lets hope it continues to go well!
     
  10. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #10
    Isn't Safari 4 a BETA. That could be the problem...
     
  11. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    If that were true, there would be a few hundred threads about it by now
     
  12. okrelayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #12
    ok guys. Since resetting the PRAM and SMC i have not had any issues what so ever. I am pretty sure that cured my issue, likely caused by the power outage. Thanks much for chimeing in and helping!
     

Share This Page