Beats By Dre iBeats

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by KingOfDope, Oct 20, 2013.

  1. KingOfDope macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I bought this Beats by Dre iBeats
    and the they have 3 buttons (previous/play-call/nect)
    and when i plug it on my phone (Samsung Galaxy S2)
    it works but the previous and next button change the sound
    but play and call work :) i don't mind that. But when i plug it
    in my Macbook late 2008 with Mountain Lion installed it doesn't
    detect the previous button and next button functions as play button
    but play button works. I tried it on iTunes, Spotify, QuikTime and VLC
    and still no succes :( and I don't get it Beats by Dre are specialy made for
    Apple products why doesn't it work on my macbook.

    Here are some picture of my Beats by Dre:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. pellets007 macrumors 6502a

    pellets007

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    In 2008, the Apple headphones only shipped with the pause/play functionality. I believe this was built into their MacBooks around this time. It was in later generations that the previous/next functionality was added.

    It's not the fault of the Beats, but the hardware of your MacBook. I believe the Aluminum MacBooks and later could use the pause/previous/next functions on headphones.

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  3. KingOfDope thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
  4. kunai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #4
    Throw out those crappy Beats and buy a pair of Etymotic HF5s.
     
  5. KingOfDope thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    #5
    hahaah okey :p :D
     
  6. kunai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #6
    ;)
     
  7. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    I think you're right - my late 2009 MBP allows you to skip songs using headphone buttons. Not much point though, b/c you can just using the previous/next buttons on the keyboard.
     
  8. KingOfDope thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    #8
    yeah I know but I was scared that it was broken ;D but its fine thnx
     

Share This Page