Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

czeluff

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 23, 2006
Hey guys,

I'm a C++ Windows dev by day, but my heart lies with OSX. Recently, I've become worried about losing my job (not because i'm a bad developer or anything, just because of the general economy).

I need to start branching out, and learning new languages. My resume does not cover enough languages out there, and to be honest, I NEVER see job postings for C++ in Utah, it's all C#.

So for the next year, I REALLY want to focus on new languages, and I'd like some help picking the four that I put under my belt. Here's what I have thus far:

Windows: C#
Mac: Objective-C
Web: Ruby on Rails
General-purpose scripting: Perl

I'd prefer to learn one for each of those categories stated above. (Learning Javascript, Ruby, AJAX, & WebObjects wouldn't be that great of an idea, since it limits my resume to being a "web guy").

Does that list above look good? Other languages up for consideration/swapping with the list above:

Python
Lisp
Javascript
Java
Django
OpenGL
PHP

Thanks everyone!

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
Are there Mac or iPhone job postings in your area? If not, be prepared to set out on your own (which is possible). If you don't want to set out on your own, I don't know that Objective-C is worth investing time in just to get it on your resume. It's certainly interesting, but it doesn't sound like you're looking for a fun or academically fulfilling endeavor, but a profitable one. Plus, the syntax differences in Objective-C are fairly minor. The message pass ([x callThis]), object definition and fast enumeration are about the only non-C syntax i can think of. There is surely a few other things, but the libraries are where the action is.