BEFORE UPDATING!! Post your true signal strength before/after (READ 1ST POST!)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Geckotek, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    All of these posts about "I get 5 bars now!" or "I'm only getting 300Kbps" are worthless guys. Let's get a true comparison here to see if there is a real improvement or if Apple/AT&T are just pulling a fast one on us.

    A couple of posters have given the instructions on how to so this...here is a post from Themadpunter.

    For me, I won't be updating until the Jailbreak is available for 2.1. I'm just going to record my readings in a few key places in this post to compare later.
    Please post your:
    firmware | location | results (it will fluctuate, give an average)

    2.0.2 | @ my desk @ home | -73
    2.1.0 | @ my desk @ home | TBD

    2.0.2 | @ my desk @ work | -95 | 2 bars
    2.1.0 | @ my desk @ work | TBD | TBD
    (my office and Church get bad reception...those will be the real tests for me)
     
  2. Raid macrumors 68020

    Raid

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    Ok this could be interesting

    2.0.2 | At office | -85 (stable) Ranged from 79 to 93
    2.1 | At office | -79 (stable) Ranged from 71 to 93

    Oh and for what it's worth I have 3G off.
     
  3. pintnight macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    #3
    Too late for me. But, where my iPhone sit in my house, before I was getting in the 90. I'm now getting in the low 70.

    2.0.2 | My home office | upper 90
    2.1.0 | My home office | -70
     
  4. iceterminal macrumors 68000

    iceterminal

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Tx.
    #4
    Ok

    2.0.2 | My office | avg -79 (between -73 and -85)
    2.1.0 | My office | avg -73 (between -69 and -75)

    I'm close to downtown Dallas Tx.
     
  5. radiotowers macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    2.0.1 | -103 dBm | 1-2 bars
    2.1 | -109 dBm | 4-5 bars

    Uh, yeah.

    Can't comment on dropped calls yet.
     
  6. spyz88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #6
    2.0.2 | My office | avg -unknown
    2.1.0 | My office | avg -107 (between -100 and -117)

    Also, I am in an area around NYC and in a full 3G coverage area.

    How is this possible with 4 bars? I just dont get it.
     
  7. spyz88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #7
    You and I are in the same boat :mad:
     
  8. AustinSTI macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #8
    Before (2.0.2) -101DB 1-2 bars
    After (2.1) - -101DB 4 bars.
     
  9. Bodah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #9
    I see that some people read the first post, and the title of the thread....
     
  10. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #10
    I don't have signal strengths, but I have speed numbers.

    Numbers below are an average of three tests performed at iphonespeedtest.com.

    2.0 - 3G -> 270kbps
    2.1 - 3G -> 450kbps
     
  11. radiotowers macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia
    #11
    What exactly are you looking for? The dBm is roughly the same (actually slightly worse) in the same location. I provided "bars" just for reference, even though it's irrelevant in the scheme of things.
     
  12. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #12
    how the hell do you get rid of the number next to the cell provider??
    i pressed the home button and its still there :rolleyes:
    :confused: :eek:
     
  13. AustinSTI macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #13
    Yeah ok because WHERE you are is more important data than How many bars you have at a given DB :rolleyes: Give me a break. (Apologies in advance if I'm taking your comment the wrong way. I assumed you were criticizing the lack of Pipes and Location in my post.
     
  14. AustinSTI macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #14
    Bars isn't irrelevant; in fact its 1000X more relevant than 'I'm in my office' or 'I'm in the bathroom playing with myself'.

    The whole POINT is to see if the signal strength (DB) actually changed, OR if they remapped signal strength to bars. Without the bars its much less useful to point DB
     
  15. impact_blue macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    #15
    Wow. Is Apple really pulling a fast one on us? Same signal strength, but more bars with 2.1 :confused:
     
  16. Geckotek thread starter macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Please refrain from including these types of numbers. They are not helpful and cannot truly be compared. They are not a true indication of signal strength.

    Also, please include the minor version....2.0.1, 2.0.2 etc..
     
  17. Geckotek thread starter macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    Location is relevant, we have to compare apples to apples. You can't compare signal in one room of your house to signal in another room, let alone from your house to your office. I am listing location because over the next few days I will test several locations before I update.

    Bars can be relevant to see if Apple did raise the number of bars to the same signal strength, but what I REALLY want to know is if my signal strength went up.

    If you want to include bars, put another pipe with the number of bars.
     
  18. edrex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #18
    2.0.2 | At my desk | -97 (1 bar)
    2.1 | At my desk | -97 (4 bars)
     
  19. radiotowers macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia
    #19
    Yeah exactly. I guess I didn't see the point of saying that I'm sitting in my living room both times, i.e., why the hell would anyone bother posting signal strength for two different locations when trying to make a comparison between two firmware versions? If you're going to post results from multiple locations, that's fine, but...

    The issue with bars is only relevant to me for exactly the reason you mentioned. But ultimately, I don't care how many bars I have as long as I can actually not drop a call, or have the other party be able to understand what I'm saying.

    So:

    2.0.1 | Living room of my house | -103
    2.1.0 | Living room of my house | -109
     
  20. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #20
    well.. i found a half assed solution..

    just tap the number and it will turn into the bars..
    tap it again and it will turn to numbers!!
     
  21. alFR macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #21
    For the love of God, it says in the release notes:

    What about that makes you think (a) they're claiming that signal strength will have improved, (b) that signal strength will have improved? :confused:
     
  22. Geckotek thread starter macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #22
    IF that's the case, then I should have FEWER bars in MORE places. :p
     
  23. ebrunn macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #23
    Wouldn't these new numbers not be accurate if they change how it calculates the signal strength?
     
  24. kane4fire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #24
    2.0.2 - -104dB - 1 bar
    2.1 - -104dB - 4 bars

    2 dropped calls already with my 4 bars :rolleyes:
     
  25. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #25
    Apple assumed we're gullible fools.

    I have 2 iPhones in the same location. Top ones is the 2.0.2 and the bottom ones is from 2.1.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      23.1 KB
      Views:
      1,710
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      23.2 KB
      Views:
      1,711
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      23.2 KB
      Views:
      1,704
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      23.2 KB
      Views:
      1,774

Share This Page