Begin the countdown for Apple 5k monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by whitedragon101, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. whitedragon101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #1
    I don't know how long we will have to wait but I think now we have a 5k iMac the countdown just started for a 5k Apple monitor.
     
  2. chfilm macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    I'm afraid they'll wait for a new mac pro with TB3 and leave us stupid first gen buyers in HD country :mad:
     
  3. eish2306 macrumors regular

    eish2306

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    Wales
    #3
    Nope they will just sell us an expensive adapter like the dual link dvi one to run a 30" but more :(
     
  4. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #4
    You can't use an 'adapter' to fix the problem that TB2 doesn't have enough bandwidth to support a 5K monitor.
     
  5. PhiLLoW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    #5
    of course you can.


    The iMac is wired with two TB2 connections to it's display. An Apple Engineer posted this on Twitter.


    The MacPro has 3xThunderbolt Busses. So it's possible to dual-link 2xThunderbolt ports to transmit your signals to a 5k monitor.
     
  6. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    You'll need to wait awhile. No Mac can currently drive a 5K monitor due to the limitations of TB2/DP1.2 so we will need to wait for TB3/DP1.3 and that will not arrive until Intel's Skylake chipset which is running quite late, I hear.

    See also - http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1803275
     
  7. wwohl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #7
    Cwallace is right on..

    Thunderbolt 2 is DP1.2, until they adopt a new standard for video on the macs, theyre not going to offer a stand alone 5k monitor. None of the existing macs, including the PRO can drive that monitor.
     
  8. whitedragon101 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #8
    Thats the real question. Skylake is still possible next year.

    - Will Skylake Macbook Pros be out next Q3 ?
    - Can a Macbook Pro (maxwell 950m or 1050m) even drive 5k?

    If its a no then it'll be 2016 for me... (surely not 2017... I hope not)
     
  9. wwohl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #9
    Even if the new DP 1.3 chipset would be included in next years mac pros and macbook pros, 5k costs would have to come down a lot.

    I mean seriously, Samsungs 28inch monitor sports a 3840 x 2160 resolution and can be had for $500 right now. Thats an inch more real-estate on a monitor that will likely remain $1000+ less than any 5k Apple TB display that is released.

    Does anyone really need 5k right now?
     

Share This Page