Beginner help with web coding

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by deriko100, Oct 5, 2008.

1. deriko100 macrumors 6502

Hey im a beginner in developing web based items like learning how to code and use apps like dreamweaver or rapidweaver a book or a online guide would be ok not that hard please im a starter and dont want extremely hard stuff sorry if this is in the wrong thread and please dont flame. Thanks Bye. :D

2. jodelli macrumors 65816

jodelli

3. redwarrior macrumors 603

redwarrior

Imho, one of the best ways to teach yourself the craft is to start with templates. You can search and find plenty of them. Find something you like and tweak it, then get into the code.

Personally, I don't recommend starting out trying to learn html to write a webpage, it's like reinventing the wheel. :)

4. deriko100 thread starter macrumors 6502

and use what app to edit the templates ?

5. redwarrior macrumors 603

redwarrior

I like Smultron (free), but it's not wysiwyg. My app of choice is Microsoft Expression Web, if you happen to have it at your disposal. Rapidweaver, which I have only investigated, seems not to allow importing of existing sites. Dreamweaver is for the pros, or at least someone who's been doing it a lot!

Hopefully, you'll get a few more responses with more helpful info. I've only been working on OSX for about 6 months now, so I'm not the best authority on the subject.:eek:

Good luck, and have fun!

6. deriko100 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks for the posts i guess ill start with templates and work my way up to pro-coding any books would be helpful too.

7. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

8. deriko100 thread starter macrumors 6502

thanks and ill check there

9. montanachad macrumors regular

montanachad

BBEdit 9!!!!! I tweak templates too. It's easy way to learn hand coding. I'm not much of an artist though, so design is not my specialty.

10. ncmason macrumors regular

ncmason