Beginner lens advice needed.

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Xeperu, Jun 1, 2011.

1. Xeperu macrumors 6502

Greeting my fellow forummers.

After googling first, to no avail, I thought I'd pose the question here.

I'm a beginning photographer and I got a free Canon 550D with my new car. However the standard lens is super crappy and I'd like to get a bit better all round beginner lens.

Basically I'm looking for a compatible lens which is good as an all round lens. I'll be backpacking around Japan again this summer and only want to bring one lens to safe on weight.

If any of you have a good suggestion in the 100-200$ price range I'd be much obliged.

As proof I actually did some research and not the lazy way, some options people advise me to consider are

Tamron 18-200mm F 3.5-6.3 XR Di-II Canon Which is supposed to be good value for money.

2. flosseR macrumors 6502a

flosseR

what is your "standard lens".. 100-200USD won't get you anything spectacular my friend. I have heard that the canon 18-55 IS kit lens is superb actually. The 18-200 lenses (superzooms) have some serious sharpmness trade offs because of the zoom ranges. With fairly basic lenses costing 300+USD and go up to thousands, do you really think you will get a non crappy all round less for 200 bucks?

Then again, i am not a canon shooter so you might be able to.

3. Xeperu thread starter macrumors 6502

The Tamron one I mentioned sells for about 200$

4. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

If you think the kit lens that came with the 550d is crappy, you're not going to do any better with a budget of $200.

What lens came with the 550d? The 18-55?

If the goal is to save weight for backpacking AND get a decent quality lens, you might want to check out the Canon 50mm 1.8.

Obviously, you aren't going to be doing any zoom shots with this lens, but it does produce quality images for about $100.