Beginner's Question: Logic Express vs. GarageBand

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Bakkalohriat, Jan 20, 2008.

1. Bakkalohriat Guest

Bakkalohriat

Hi everybody, I'm a novice here and I have a simple question for you more seasoned audio professionals.

My backstory is pretty straightforward; I started playing with GarageBand and thought it was great. Because Logic Studio 8 is available to me for only $150, I purchased it and used it for a little while before I realized that it was way too much for a beginner. I've just sold it on eBay, and am now trying to decide what to do now.

I see my choices as follows: I can invest in Logic Express 8, for the more advanced interface and features, or I can spend the money on a couple of Jam Packs to keep the simplicity of GarageBand with more composition options. So, the question is if you were in my shoes, what would you do?

Thanks!

2. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

Express is more or less exactly the same interface as Pro, just with some arbitrary limitations (at least this is my understanding). If you have Studio available to you at $150 then I would say buy it again - because it comes with ALL the jam-packs. Then use that Jam-Pack library with Garageband until you want to make the move to Logic 8.

Express isn't more simple than Pro as far as the learning curve goes. However, the Getting Started pdf is a good place to start. Also, I would highly recommend macprovideo.com's Logic 101 video tutorial. You can download it for about $45 - even less if you find a coupon online. You can work through it in a couple of days and be up and running from there.

If you can get it at that low price - the decision is obvious. If not, I would say, if you're serious enough about recording, go ahead and get Express. It is a lot more powerful than Garageband, and to upgrade from there to Studio will actually cost you $1 less than buying Studio at its regular $499 price.