Beginning web designer, where should I get started beyond HTML/CSS?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Rychy, Apr 16, 2011.

1. Rychy, Apr 16, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011

Rychy macrumors 6502

Hey all,

I'm a beginning web designer, I know XHTML/CSS and also learning HTML5/CSS3. I want to start learning to create dynamic websites and need to learn some new languages, and I'm wondering which ones I should start with... the things on my list are JavaScript, jQuery, and maybe PHP.

Is this a good place to start? Some good book resources would be awesome as well!

2. bpaluzzi macrumors 6502a

bpaluzzi

Those three will give you a great base to work from.

php is a server-side scripting language, which allows you to do "heavy lifting", connect to databases, etc.

javascript is a client-side scripting language, which allows you to programatically interact with the rendered page

jQuery is a javascript library which bundles a lot of functions up into a cross-browser, easy-to-use package.

I'd also add Smarty, which is a php templating system, which allows you to get a nice clean separation between your display logic and your business logic.

PHP and JQuery both have fairly in-depth documentation on their sites, and w3schools has a decent javascript tutorial.

http://www.php.net/tut.php
    http://docs.jquery.com/Tutorials:How_jQuery_Works
    http://www.w3schools.com/js/default.asp
    http://www.smarty.net/about_smarty

3. laurim macrumors 68000

laurim

Besides the coding, you should learn how to design good websites that are fast to load, easy to navigate, work in all browsers and devices, easy to maintain and good for search engines to catalog. Anyone can code, people in India will do it for $1/hr, but few can design a really good interface. Learn from the masters like Jeffrey Zeldman, http://www.zeldman.com/ and the others who write articles for http://www.alistapart.com/

4. Rychy thread starter macrumors 6502