Belkin AV360 1080P HDMI-MDP Input Adapter Review

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TheSandman2236, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. Durious macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #2
    That's awesome so glad I seen this I was about to buy the other device today as my iMac is on the way!
     
  2. wrw23maths macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #3
    According to the Belkin Website, whilst it accepts 1080p, it just converts it to 720p, so surely this is no better than the other adapters which only accept 720p.
     
  3. Twinsbb17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    #4
    It sure would be nice if Apple updated their 21.5" iMacs to support this...I'm waiting til the fall to get me a new iMac so this would sure be swell.
     
  4. TheSandman2236 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Yeah I just saw that -- well hopefully they'll update it to 1080p. It still looks amazing.
     
  5. JSAYER macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Would it be possible (or are there any alternatives) to use this on my 2010 15' MBP?
     
  6. slicecom macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    Still awaiting the detailed review you promised! :p
     
  7. TheSandman2236 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    I'm working on it -- it might not be til the weekend because of work.
     
  8. Dichotomic macrumors newbie

    Dichotomic

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    #9
    I'm looking forward to hearing what you have to say about this product. I'm ordering an adapter on Monday, and I'm undecided as to what brand.

    The 720p output, is that a hardware limitation? I would assume if it was possible to make a 1080p output adapter someone would have done it already...

    How do you like the quality from your 360? Does it look nice on the iMac display? My need for the adapter is because I have a PS3 and no HDTV.
     
  9. MacRodster macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    #10
    Would love to see some in game graphics and further updates from this thread please ;)
     
  10. GeorgeN111 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    #11
    I will be picking up one of these always liked Belkins Products after i get my Mac after the refresh. However they don't seem to be available in the UK apple store. And i can not seem to find this product in any UK store.
     
  11. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

    chrmjenkins

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #12
    Nice pictures. Love your setup.

    AFAIK, the no 1080P is a limitation of the iMac (it doesn't support 1080p over input). Let me see if I can find a link to support that.

    edit:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=10401829&postcount=967

    This post, and thread in general, outlines the options and current problems.

    Also see this review of a similar product: http://arstechnica.com/apple/review...your-27-imac-now-plays-nice-with-your-ps3.ars

    This is still an improvement over other adapters as there is now a wider range of input resolutions you can have your xbox/ps3 set to and still get a good signal at the output.

    No, MBPs do not accept, nor do they have a port for, video input.
     
  12. TheSandman2236 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #13
    Holy crap everyone, I'm extremely sorry for the delay. I've been SWAMPED at work. I will have some time to do some testing on this tonight.

    First of all, I would like to see what everyone would like to hear out of the review. I will test the obvious -- I have an Xbox 360 Slim, PS3 Slim, and a WDTV Live Plus to test with. Let me know what you would like to see out of the review. Thanks!
    :apple:
     
  13. slicecom macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #14
    Mostly I'd like feedback on how the picture looks. Since its only 720P does it look blurry or is it upscaled to look very sharp? Also some high res pictures of the PS3's home screen (XMB etc...) would be great. :)
     
  14. sleyeu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #15
    is this sold in the uk?

    could you tell us how it looks like when you are half a meter from the screen, 1 meter away from the screen and 2 meters away from the screen?

    is 720p resolution any good? always played on 540p...
     
  15. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #16
    You do know most games run native at 720p right? Uncharted 2, killzone, lbp and the list goes on.

    So ask yoruself if uncharted 2 looks fantastic on a 50" screen how do you think it will look on a 27" screen. On the 27" there is alot more pixels per inch.
     
  16. Mr Freezetag macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #17
    The solution:

    http://www.metacafe.com/watch/4823801/atlona_at_hd620_hdmi_mini_display_port_to_mini_display_port/

    http://www.atlona.com/ATLONA-HDMI-MINI-DISPLAYPORT-TO-MINI-DISPLAYPORT-SCALER-AND-SWITCHER.html

    If you read the details this takes 1080p resolutions and scales it up to the 27" display's 2560x1440 resolution, and also the 24" 1920x1200. First device I've seen with the scaling!!!!

    Now what I want to know is if on these devices, switching from your xbox 360 and plugging in an HD cable box via HDMI is going to be a not-so-smooth switch OR if it would be no different than plugging in a camera into a usb or a HDD....

    If anyone has purchased this please let us know. Also I was wondering if a 2 to 1 HDMI splitter would allow you to plug in 2 HDMI devices at once (have them both constantly connected to your imac) yet be able to pick and choose on the computer which one to use. Because it makes no sense to buy 2 of these devices ($$$) so you could have 2 HDMI hook ups.

    Thank you and you are welcome
     
  17. Mr Freezetag macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #18
  18. sleyeu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #19
    But not the belkin I believe, and the atlona is more expensive. Apple will probably never update the iMac to take in 1080 as it isint in the best of interest for them. Unless the apple tv will do 1080, probably 780 or 1440 to compliment it's own brand.
     
  19. GeorgeN111 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    #20
    Could you please tell me where you purchased this i have been looking everywhere and have not been able to find it i am in the UK but i will be travelling to USA on Tuesday so i will be able to pick it up there if it is available from retail stores in the US
     
  20. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

    chrmjenkins

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #21
    As I pointed out above, the iMac doesn't support more than 720p over input, so the fact that these converters can scale to the iMac's native resolution is pointless at this juncture. Apple needs to update the iMac.
     
  21. /V\acpower macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #22
    nah, it would be on their best interest, just that it need a bit more hardware to scale a 1080 signal to 1440p (2560x1440). Right now it support 720p (1280x720) because its exactly the half of the native resolution, so it doesn't need scaling.
     
  22. Mr Freezetag macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #23
    The scaler is able to upconvert any HDMI resolution to match the native resolution of an Apple iMac 27” (2560x1440).

    This device is not the same as these other adapters without scaling....

    Go look in the other forums where people have compared them side by side to the earlier adapters. This one blew the old ones out of the water. Now I wonder why? Obviously not 720p.
     
  23. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

    chrmjenkins

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #24
    I checked again, this appears to be correct.
     
  24. sleyeu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #25
    The iMac can only take 720 and 1440 and one more small one.

    They may have different algorithms which makes the quality better or worse, or may look better to someone.

    I believe that the atlona can output 1080p but the iMac just won't take it.
     

Share This Page