Belkin "N" Series Routers?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DougY, Dec 27, 2009.

  1. DougY macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    #1
    I am buying my first Mac ever (iMac 27", 3.06 gig) this coming Friday.
    I have a Belkin "N" Series Wireless Router currently hardwired to my Gateway PC. I would like to keep that computer up and running until I feel comfortable with my new iMac. I was told at the Apple Store, that as soon as I fire up my new iMac, it will automatically recognize the router and will wirelessly connect to the internet. However, some postings here on this forum have suggested that Belkin N Series Routers are problematic with the new iMac. Whats your take on this? Thanks for your time.
     
  2. AlaskaMoose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #2
    It should work fine as long as you remember the router's password for the WI-FI portion of the router. I prefer Belkin Wireless G Plus routers, however.
     
  3. DougY thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    #3
    I dont remember the password. Is there any way I can retrieve it?
     
  4. thiagos macrumors 6502

    thiagos

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    NYC (Manhattan)
    #4
    If your windows machine does not request a password, you most likely do not have one setup. If you do and do not remember, locate the reset button on the back of the Belkin router, press it and hold for at least 10 seconds, that should reset the modem.

    BUT it will require you to setup the router from scratch, unless you do know how to do it, if you don't I would just leave it as it is...
     
  5. DougY thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    #5
    Actually, after looking at the Belkin Router, I saw that there are four extra etherlink cable ports on the back of it, so I should be able to hardline connect the router directly to my iMac AND the PC at the same time, and get a better connection than using wireless. Does this make sense?
     
  6. thiagos macrumors 6502

    thiagos

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    NYC (Manhattan)
    #6
    Yes. You can connect your iMac to your router via Ethernet cable.
     
  7. DougY thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    #7

    Thanks Thiagos, I appreciate the help.
     
  8. thiagos macrumors 6502

    thiagos

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    NYC (Manhattan)
    #8
    My pleasure...:)
     
  9. Tenshi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #9
    My new iMac connects to a Belkin N Router without any problems. If you have forgotten the password, then you will have to reset the router.
     
  10. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #10
    no need to reset the router just acess the software inside the router , by typing in its ip adressin your browser , then its asking for a username and password (i dont know the one used by belkin but that easy to find out from the manual)
    then you can acess the inthernal software and set up the router ,wireless password and internal firewall , even close or open certain ports which are closed by default , even give your pc a fixed ip adress and your mac a fixed one and and and
     

Share This Page