Belkin Thunderbolt Express Dock and the Ethernet port

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kimjohnsson, Feb 25, 2015.

  1. kimjohnsson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    #1
    Hi guys!

    I have a PC laptop, which I want to connect to the Belkin using a network cable, with the Belkin being connected to my iMac over Thunderbolt. I would expect the PC to join my home network when the cable is attached to both the PC and the Belkin, but it doesn't do that. The Mac is connected to the network using a cable.
    The cable is ok, as when I bypass the iMac/Belkin route and plug the PC network cable directly to the wall, it works.

    So we have:
    a) Home network -> PC: works
    b) Home network -> iMac: works
    b) Home network -> iMac -> Belkin -> PC: doesn't work

    When I connect the PC and the Belkin, the PC starts waiting for an IP, which it never gets. Should the iMac be configured in a certain way for this to work, or have I been mistaken as to how the Belkin is supposed to work?
     
  2. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    The Mac will share its internet connection but you have to configure it in the sharing preference (system preference) .

    Unlike most basic PCs, Macs don't support dual ethernet ports. So you may not be able to share the Mac internet connection with an ethernet device on the thunderbolt dock. Don't have first hand knowledge, however.
     
  3. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #3
    Macs do share network connections over any available network interface, including multiple ethernet ports. He just needs to set it up in the Sharing Preferences.

    He just needs to turn it on and select Share From ethernet...to the Thunderbolt ethernet port. Here is my system (it's not set up this way, but you can see the options):

    [​IMG]
     
  4. dyt1983, Feb 25, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #4
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  5. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #5
    Don't all modern ethernet ports support auto?
     
  6. dyt1983, Feb 25, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #6
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  7. kimjohnsson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    #7
    Hi!

    Thanks! This almost did it. I shared the connection to the Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet Controller, and now I get the PC to connect, but it somehow gets the IP 192.168.2.2 and gateway 192.168.2.1, when it should be 192.168.1.x/192.168.1.1. So where does that IP come from/where do I configure it?

    The Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet Controller gets a self-assigned IP 164.254....

    Cheers,

    Kim
     
  8. kimjohnsson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    #8
    Hi!

    Both kinds of cables apparently work...

    Cheers,

    Kim
     
  9. dyt1983, Feb 25, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #9
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  10. kimjohnsson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    #10
    I can see the internet from the PC, but not the shared resources on my network. I can ping them successfully, but they don't show up in Explorer. I can also remote desktop to the PC from my Mac, which is my primary need, but I would also need to be able to use the network drives.

    Maybe a bridge would be the right thing. No idea where to start, though...

    Cheers,

    Kim
     
  11. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #11
    You just need to turn on File Sharing. Internet sharing and file sharing are different things. See the picture I posted above.
     
  12. dyt1983, Feb 26, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #12
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  13. kimjohnsson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    #13
    Yeah, that would work. I just thought that since there's an Ethernet port, I can use it :)

    I'll probably try the bridging at some point just for the fun (?) of it, but I'll probably end up geting a switch if things turn out too inconvenient.

    Thanks for the hints,

    Kim
     
  14. jflash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    #14
    Is this belkin's one thunderbolt 1 or thunderbolt 2? I am looking for a reliable thunderbolt 2 docking station.
     
  15. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #15
    Dunno of any unreliable ones, some have sleep quirks and audio pops. Here's a list of docks, read to the end. The two StarTech docks seems to be the least quirky.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1831181
     
  16. kimjohnsson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    #16
    It's the 1.
     

Share This Page