Belkin USB Hub Issue

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Capt. Morgan, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. Capt. Morgan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    I ran into the first problem related to the single USB port today - I needed to install software via the external drive (no other option for me at home) and have my HP C4280 printer plugged in at the same time.

    Get a USB hub and no problem, right? Wrong. My MBA external drive is a MIA external drive when plugged into the Belkin four port hub. My ethernet cable likes it fine, but the external drive only seems to work when it monopolizes the MBA USB port.

    Ideas?
     
  2. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #2
    It needs all the power.

    Mechanical devices will do that.
     
  3. qpid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    #3
    It's not a power issue, people run into the same thing with powered usb hubs, its a firmware issue. The drive only works directly connected to the MBA, which is also why it doesn't work on other computers. See the product reviews at store.apple.com
     
  4. raremage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #4
    While it is possible that the drives firmware looks for an MBA, it's also been reported that the Superdrive draws more juice (and he MBA USB port is capable of supplying it) than a "normal" usb port puts out-thus even a powered hub will be short in supplying sufficient power to run the drive.
     
  5. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #5
    It needs 1A to run, which is more than supplied by a powered USB hub (which will limit each port to 500mA)
     
  6. qpid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    #6
    The Superdrive does not draw more power. That was a rumor before the drives actually shipped, arstechnica, giz and engadget all found that the mba usb ports put out the same power as every other high speed usb port.

    edit: for proof go to system profiler > usb and look at the power power, everything draws 500a
     
  7. qpid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    #7
    As for ways to get around the issue, have you tried using remote disk to install the software while the printer is connected.
     
  8. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
  9. darwiniandude macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #9
    as soon as my external drive arrives, I shall be connecting it to a hacked USB extension lead and 1.5a (if needed) 5v psu and see if it want to eat disc! :)

    If it works, I'll hodify a Hun to provide full power to one port.
     
  10. Capt. Morgan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #10
    No other wireless computer in the house to make that work. I'll copy the HP install software onto my HD and then re-connect the hub (including the printer) into the USB port. Then the install software should be able to see the printer and I can complete the installation. Once complete my external drive can go back to the closet for a another month.
     
  11. raremage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #11
    You don't need another wireless computer, just a networked one.
     
  12. stakis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #12
    I don't know if I'm off, but I'm pretty sure that HP supplies all Drivers and Software on their website.... you should be able to just download the same software that you have on the CD and run it off your HD....
     
  13. Capt. Morgan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #13
    This was my solution. I copied the installer from the CD to the HD. Once done, I was free to use the USB hub for my ethernet and the printer. It turned out to be an old installer (nice going HP) so I went to the web site for the latest and greatest.
     

Share This Page