Benefits of clam mode?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by nightlong, Jul 9, 2012.

1. nightlong macrumors 6502a

nightlong

I've been looking for info about the benefits of using clam mode with MacBook Air. Do you get better performance with only the external screen activated? Sorry if this is such a basic question, but I'm a newbie and clam shell mode is new to me.

Planning to get 13" MBA and external monitor and would appreciate some advice on getting best performance. Does having the MBA vertical in an arc stand help with cooling ... Better than sitting flat on a desk? Does the MBA get hotter in clam mode?

2. MacBird macrumors 6502

I leave my laptop a crack opened when attached to an external monitor for better heat dissipation. A stand might work, too as long as the back of the computer faces upward.

3. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

Read this thread to see how an MBA is cooled. From this, you should be able to determine the best way to position your MBA when connected to an external monitor.

4. nightlong thread starter macrumors 6502a

nightlong

Thanks for the info. So, does clam mode improve performance? I presume it must, otherwise people would use both screens with different things on each?

5. Abazigal macrumors 604

Abazigal

THis has me wondering too. I guess the main benefit is that the mba can divert all its resources towards powering the external display, rather than splitting between its screen and external display, so you should theoretically get better graphics performance.

6. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

How could it improve performance? Direct from the graphics controller to the screen versus out a cable to an external monitor. What do you think is faster? Also, lots of people use both screens with different things on each. Why would you assume they don't?

7. KPOM macrumors G5

All of the VRAM (256-384MB on the 2011, 512MB on the 2012) is available to the external display in clamshell mode.

8. kodeman53 macrumors 65816