BenQ BL3200PT With 2013 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by calaverasgrande, Nov 6, 2014.

  1. calaverasgrande macrumors 65816

    calaverasgrande

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York.
    #1
    Curious if anyone has used this display with the New Mac Pro.
    I'm thinking two of these would make for a decent enough amount of workspace.
    I'm not terribly familiar with Benq. Though they seem to get good reviews.
    Positives? Horror stories?
     
  2. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
    I've not used them, but I'm curious why you would want 2560x1440 in a 32" panel... that's going to be getting a bit big and ugly up close. Why not a more typical 27" panel at that res?
     
  3. calaverasgrande thread starter macrumors 65816

    calaverasgrande

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York.
    #3
    Being used in my music studio primarily, with video and graphics work as secondary considerations.
    I'm using a 32" 1920 by 1080 right now and its only bad when I am right on top of it, which is rare.

    Besides the dot pitch of 27" at 2560 by 1440 is .2330 compared to .2767 for 32". That may be eye bleeding for some folks but I can live with a merely higher resolution.
    Basically I'm throwing in the towel on 4k and just looking for some big monitors I can work from while standing a few feet away or sitting a bit closer.
     
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4

    I see (pun intended) :D

    Like you, I've not heard much about Benq, but from what little I've read, the seam to have a good reputation.
     
  5. calaverasgrande thread starter macrumors 65816

    calaverasgrande

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York.
    #5
    I'm surprised to not find any threads on this model or other Benq. They are all over B&H Photo's site, who is a MAJOR Apple seller. Much of the broadcast and film/video post industry goes through them for audio, computer and camera gear.
    They are also on quite a few other etailer sites.
    I'm not 100% on the aesthetics of the monitor stand and case, but it's sure better than HP and Dell's current design 'choices'.
     
  6. powerless macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #6
    After experiencing problems with a Dell U2713H and Asus PA279Q (same panel I think), I waited for something else to come along. It did, but it wasn't the BL3200, it was the LG 34UM95. I'm glad I didn't purchase it after seeing lots of issues with the panel (not to say I would experience them of course) and it was also £800+.

    Then the BL3200 popped up and it was not only cheaper (£500), but bigger! This was an upgrade to my Dell 2407 (still have it) and going from 24" to 32" makes a difference.

    I was actually looking for a 2560x1440+, so with its 32" panel along with the price, it was hard to resist.

    The only "thing" (aka not a problem for me) is that there is a banding issue. The only time I see it, is when I'm at the OS X login screen and looking at the panel at an angle. It does not bother me as I cannot see it when looking straight at it during day-to-day tasks.

    Oh and with all cables they bundle with it, it was lacking a MDP to DP so I had to purchase one.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. calaverasgrande thread starter macrumors 65816

    calaverasgrande

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York.
    #7
    thanks for chiming in!
    Doesnt look like you have any angle of view problem there.
    Any coil whine?
    I was about to pull the trigger on the Planar 'Mac' monitor, IPS panel, decent enough looking and reasonable price, but a lot of complaints of whine that the manufacturer kind of dismisses.
     
  8. powerless macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
  9. calaverasgrande thread starter macrumors 65816

    calaverasgrande

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York.
    #9
    Heck now I am looking at the Benq BL2710PT.
    It's a bit smaller, but I can probably field two of these in the same space for much more desktop, and not a lot more dough.
     
  10. calaverasgrande thread starter macrumors 65816

    calaverasgrande

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York.
    #10
    I went to Fry's ( a local chain that specializes in tecg gear and consumer electrtonics) and checked out all their displays.
    The selection was disappointing. A large array of 1080p monitors and quite a few of those 2560x1080 as well. Not very many 1440p displays, and a lot of 4k. I was impressed by the 4k asus and Samsung monitors, but the issues I have heard about kept me away.
    Picked up an open box Asus PB278 IPS display for enough of a discount to offset the instate taxes.

    Got it home, set it up and calibrated it. It really does have an insane color gamut. The IPS glow is evident, but overall the image quality is quite good. On the downside, the reason it was open box was obvious, one stuck pixel and 2 dead sub pixels.
    They are all dead, not bright, so it really isnt too noticeable unless you have an all white screen with nothing on it. I'm thinking I may just live with it.
     
  11. phantomEVO macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #11
    hi to all guys, im ruben from italy, i hope you can help me! i've bought one month ago, a macmini (late 2012) with hd4000 to replace my imac27. i've connected it to a samsung t27d590ew (TV - MONITOR) with horrible results: even in full hd with the hdmi cable, or vga, or thunderbolt, i had a lot of problems in terms of crispness of text. so i've sold it. i would like to buy a good screen for my macmini so ive seen this awesome monitor. what do you think about it? will i have always problems???

    apple site says

    Supported displays and configuration
    You can use 4K displays and Ultra HD TVs with these Mac computers:
    MacBook Pro (Retina, Late 2013 and later)
    Mac Pro (Late 2013)
    iMac (27-inch, Late 2013 and later)
    Mac mini (Late 2014)
    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202856

    could i set the monitor to the same risolution of my old imac27?

    ps sorry for my bad english
     

Share This Page