Benq G2400W, Macbook Pro & "No signal detected"

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by w0ngbr4d, May 7, 2009.

1. w0ngbr4d macrumors regular

I've been running a Benq G2400W on my MacBook Pro since December 2008 with no problems. I recently has my logic board replaced due to a power issue. I got the computer back a few weeks ago. For some odd reason, my monitor refuses to accept the signal from my MacBook Pro over DVI. I can use the DVI to Analog converter and it works just fine.

I did find a thread over at Apple Support Discussions outlining the exact issue I am having. The solution is to remove a pin from the DVI cable. I shouldn't have to destroy a cable to get this to work again. I might order a new cable/adapter from monoprice.com and destroy it if that is my only option though.

I just can't figure out what changed except for the logic board swap...but I don't remember if it has worked over DVI since I got it back.

I deleted the windowserver plist for my user and the system one with no change in behavior. Are there any other settings I could try resetting?

I've unplugged the Benq and reset the monitor via the OSD to default settings.

I did read over at anandtech that it could be HDCP related...but I'm not trying to watch a video.

I plugged the laptop into a Dell 1905 at work via DVI and it worked perfectly fine.

I'm completely baffled.

Thoughts?

2. w0ngbr4d thread starter macrumors regular

I tried the pin 16 mentioned in that Apple Discussion thread with no luck. :(

Looks like its back to analog for now...maybe 10.5.7 might help.

3. w0ngbr4d thread starter macrumors regular

So I installed the Windows 7 RC today and installed the most recent Nvidia driver for notebooks from their website. I had DVI output at 1280x720...I think there was a monitor driver issue that prevented me from going to 1920 x 1200 (or it was the missing pin in the DVI cable, who knows).