Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Black Diesel

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 15, 2011
Hello,

Does anyone have suggestions for a 16TB SSD external storage solution for Mac? It looks like Drobo released the 8D which houses 8 SSD drives and has two Thunderbolt 3 ports. This thing is huge for the desk, so I'm wondering if anyone knows if I could install (5) SSD drives in the drobo 5D3 and get the same read/write performance of the 8D?

Would drives like the Samsung EVO 4TB SSD mounted inside 3.5" converters give me the same performance as buying the drobo 8D and installing the Samsungs SSD drives in the 8D? If yes, the 5D3 is a much cheaper/smaller solution.

I'm a newb when it comes to this type of stuff, so I think the drobo is the easiest solution for me. I believe as long as I backup the drobo files I will be good to go in case of a drobo crash.

Let me know if anyone has any experience with these.

AidenShaw

macrumors P6
Feb 8, 2003
The Peninsula
Hello,

Does anyone have suggestions for a 16TB SSD external storage solution for Mac? It looks like Drobo released the 8D which houses 8 SSD drives and has two Thunderbolt 3 ports. This thing is huge for the desk, so I'm wondering if anyone knows if I could install (5) SSD drives in the drobo 5D3 and get the same read/write performance of the 8D?

Would drives like the Samsung EVO 4TB SSD mounted inside 3.5" converters give me the same performance as buying the drobo 8D and installing the Samsungs SSD drives in the 8D? If yes, the 5D3 is a much cheaper/smaller solution.

I'm a newb when it comes to this type of stuff, so I think the drobo is the easiest solution for me. I believe as long as I backup the drobo files I will be good to go in case of a drobo crash.

Let me know if anyone has any experience with these.
Is this mission critical stuff, where you need parity protection to survive SSD failures?