Best 2015 rMBP display choice options?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jmwagner95, Jul 12, 2015.

1. jmwagner95 macrumors newbie

I'm on the hunt for a 27'' display to partner with my 2015 rMBP.

I'm a student, and thus would like to avoid paying the 1000$ for a new TBD--although I would LOVE to have one.

Is an older ACD worth the money, or possibly a refurbished TBD? Will the performance from either of those two be worse due to their age? Are they worth the still somewhat hefty price tags they carry?

Lastly, what would people suggest for the best non-apple 27'' display at this time? I've read a whole bunch of reviews and searched the other sites and browsed the forums here, but would like to here some input as to the best options currently available--and if there is already a post similar to this, please direct me to it!

thanks,
    john

2. DFWHD macrumors regular

Take a look at the Dell U2715H. USB 3 hub and DP/mDP connectivity. I've been using it since last November and love it. I moved from a 27 2012 iMac and felt as I lost nothing.

3. Fishrrman macrumors G4

Fishrrman

Don't waste your money on an Apple display.
    At this point in time, all you'll find are used ones and the years-out-of-date thunderbolt display, FAR overpriced.

Any search for a good display should start by taking a few minutes by which to browse this comprehensive list:
    http://www.pchardwarehelp.com/guides/s-ips-lcd-list.php

4. MCAsan macrumors 601

MCAsan

You used the term "best" but did not give any specs beyond cost under $1000. Do you want 27", main use case which could help drive IPS vs, TN. What color gamut, sRGB or do you need wide gamut AdobeRGB? Usually on graphic artists or those do pro level photo editing need AdobeRGB. What about resolution? Do you need it act as a hub? Only the ACD has a integrated Thunderbolt 1 hub. But at the same time, it only does USB 2 and the antique FW.