Best advice on SLR cameras for a student

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by NiKeZz, Sep 22, 2010.

1. NiKeZz macrumors 6502

NiKeZz

Well I've finally picked out my major and minor and I'm going to be doing photojournalism, studio photography, and a minor in Graphic Design or the swap side of that being my passion growing up always capturing the moment. But regardless the class requires an SLR camera on the first day of class... I've looked around and all you ever see used are Cannon's, Nikon's, Sony's etc.... I've always liked Cannon's and Nikon's digital camera lines over the others but I've never been able to get familiar with an SLR camera... Anyways, like i said I'm a college student with the normal college student income of a part time job and I'm looking for a greatly recommended and widely used camera but at a great price to preferably under $1k. It doesn't have to be anything fancy because throughout the class I will have to buy lenses and software for my MacBook Pro. I know camera's can be bought used throughout but i have no experience with the cameras functionality and I'd really like to avoid being screwed over. Your advice is my treasure on this one guys. Thanks for lending a helping hand.

2. wheezy macrumors 65816

wheezy

Between Canon and Nikon, you honestly can't go wrong. Ignoring the fan-boy flamewars, they both make incredible cameras and lenses to fit a wide variety of photo budgets from hobbyist to student to amateur to professional.

A big recommendation you'll find on here is to go to a store and handle them; see what fits well in your hands. I prefer the feel of Canon and the menu system, others prefer Nikon and their menu system.

There are other brands obviously like Pentax, Sony etc but I think the best support will come from Canon or Nikon.

3. NiKeZz thread starter macrumors 6502

NiKeZz