Best alternative to iphone on verizon? palm pre or android?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by alainr, Feb 14, 2010.

1. alainr macrumors regular

at&T does not have reception where i live.
    i have a mac and an ipod touch. i used to have a palm and liked it as a pda.

my phone is giving out; i kept waiting to buy a new one hoping that verizon wld get the iphone.

Does the palm pre work well on the mac? or am i better off with an android? i want my phone to:
    1.sync easily w/ical and the address book;
    2. sync memos w/my mac;
    3. easy interface w/the web;
    4. use it for music.

i am not a techie obviously..

i worked hard to get all my palm info onto my mac when i switched from a pc; i like all the apple apps, but i need a phone that works w/verizon.

2. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

no. switch to at&t, get the iphone, connect to wifi and get the mark the spot app by at&t, report your problem saying you need a tower.

3. davidlw macrumors 6502a

VZ will have the Nexus out soon and I would get that if I were in the market for a Android phone. The Pre is a nice but I am afraid of the hardware may or may not last the duration of the contract. I own a Droid and it is very nice and will get a update soon to the new OS. You can get the Droid now but I think that the Nexus is more iPhone like in that it is thin, and fast. IMHO

4. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

yes "more iphone like" because google cant come up with their own ideas, apple has to for them.

5. davidlw macrumors 6502a

By the way, a iPhone on VZ would be my choice.

6. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

also it wouldnt support the ability to talk and use data on 3g, like at&t customers can.

7. FrankieTDouglas macrumors 65816

Yep, without a doubt, this is the best advice.

8. Dwanep macrumors member

The Motorola Devour will be out in a couple of weeks, it is your best non iphone choice at this point in time.

9. pcs are junk macrumors 65816