Best AntiVirus for Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by fr00b, May 23, 2009.

1. fr00b macrumors regular

Hey,

I'm new to the Mac OS, and was wondering if any one could recommend a good AntiVirus software that I can use. I am currently using MacScan Trial.

Thanks

2. MBHockey macrumors 68040

MBHockey

You don't need one. I'm not sure any are even recommended. Norton, in particular, is highly recommended against.

3. fr00b thread starter macrumors regular

I'm just after some program to protect me against other threats such as trjans or tracking cookies. is iAntiVirus Free good?

4. bmacir macrumors 6502

Switch to a peecee with vista if you want viruses/antiviruses :p

5. Willis macrumors 68020

Willis

Take it from us... you don't need an Antivirus.

6. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

iLog.Genius

What people have already stated. But just to be a smart-ass and possibly an a**hole, the best antivirus is...you! If you're afraid of such things, use proper judgement. Don't open links or attachments if you're skeptical. :D

7. SkyBell macrumors 604

SkyBell

There is no reason to have an antivirus at all. But, if you just have to have one, iAntiVirus is the best. (By which I mean it doesn't do anything at all like every other Mac antivirus program, but at least it isn't a system resource hog.)

8. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

upinflames900

Keep in mind that if you do put any antivirus software on your mac, it will only slow it down (probably a lot). I would have to agree with previous comments though, you really don't need one if you are smart about it. Anyway, there is already a thread for this (probably a couple) but here is the most recent that I know of http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=691214

9. MedHead macrumors regular

When i first got my uMB I put iAntivirus on it, within a day i had realised two things:

1 It was not in any way necessary, my mates all thought it was hilarious that I had installed it.