Best apple notebook for journalist?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by K.Lizarazo, Feb 24, 2011.

1. K.Lizarazo macrumors newbie

Hello everyone. First post here.

I'm a student journalist. I'm based in Stony Brook University.

I'm posting this from my dell studio 14z, which I love very much. Had it for two years, and it still runs like brand new. I take care of my equipment.

With that being said, I've been having way too much fun in the newsrooms on campus. mac pros everywhere, each with dual 27-inch displays? Super fun. More notably, I see all of my peers/professors in the j-school carrying around their macbooks and macbook pros. They all swear by it.

Even though I have this laptop currently, I've become really interested in picking up an Apple as well. What I want to know is, what would be the best long-term investment for someone like me? I'm looking to own one for about two to three years before buying a replacement.

Here's what I want to do, all basics aside: write, record, film and send off to my editors/professors. I want to be able to edit HD films from a Canon t2i on it with Final Cut, and all without taking any hits to the performance of the machine.

Battery life is a huge priority. If you guys have any tips and tricks on how to maximize an Apple battery, let me know.

I also would plan to replace the HDD with an SSD upon purchase (if you guys have any suggestions, please chime in) as well swapping out the RAM.

Also, what's the programming scene like over here? I like to dabble.

Thanks, everyone. Sorry that this is rather long. :)

Edit: I should add, I don't plan on buying anything until the summer specials that Apple always has for back-to-school.

2. Jiten macrumors 6502a

Jiten