Best Applications for a University Student!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wnxgenral, Aug 11, 2008.

1. wnxgenral macrumors 6502

I am new to Mac... I come from a long history with windows. I have already purchased MS Office but other than that I am interested in applications that would benefit me while in school? I looked into Bento and have that but I dont know if I want to use it... Any other applications other fellow students out there just cant live without?

Let me know

2. NotFound macrumors 6502a

NotFound

I think it would be best to describe what you are going to school for and what things you used on Windows that you would need for Mac OS X.

3. Xander562 macrumors 68000

Xander562

Not necessarily student specific but I like:

Quicksilver
    Quickshareit
    VLC
    Handbrake
    Adium
    AppCleaner
    iSquint
    UnRarX
    Schoolhouse

To start :)

4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008

Looking at your signature, try out the iProcastinate mobile app for the iPhone. A lot of the reviews were from college students who downloaded the free app.

5. Am3822 macrumors 6502

Am3822

What will you be studying? If you will have to do a decent amount of math-related assignments, then I suggest LyX.

6. pimentoLoaf macrumors 68000

pimentoLoaf

FileMaker Pro, as there is no database module in Mac MS Office.

7. wnxgenral thread starter macrumors 6502

are there any programs like schoolhouse that dont crash and suck? that proggy looked and keyword LOOKED awesome but crashed every 2 seconds

8. Platonist macrumors member

Platonist