Best apps to download for Mac after using pc 15+ years

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dillytheturtle, Oct 6, 2016.

1. dillytheturtle macrumors newbie

Just like many users, I too am waiting for the new macbook pros to come out. I have been a windows user for 15+ years but I'm going to the Apple OS as soon as the new laptops come out. Now in saying that, what are some necessary apps that I should download or steps I should take to facilitate my transition to a Mac? I am also a student (biology major) so what are good apps for students?
    Lastly, what are your favorite and best apps to user in general for the Macs?

2. leman macrumors 604

It really depends on what you do. If you are biology major, then probably you work with statistics. My list of must-have software for students who want to take advantage of their computer includes MacTeX, TextMate 2, R and Terminal

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

What are you looking to do?

There are many applications available, but without knowing what you're trying to accomplish its hard to recommend much.

Here's some of my favorite apps
    Carbon Copy Cloner - great for backing up your system
    MS Office - the gold standard when it comes to office apps
    Photoshop - The major photo editing app
    Lightroom - Great DAM tool to manage my photos.

4. JeffyTheQuik macrumors 68020

JeffyTheQuik

For finances, Banktivity (formerly iBank) - But there are others. This is the only one that would connect to E*Trade Bank
    Like others have said, MS Office
    Firefox - some web pages just don't like Safari, but in the 9 years I've been using a Mac, this has gone down
    OneDrive - Since I have 4 Macs and iPhones and 1 PC, using this makes storing files a lot easier across the cloud
    macOS Server - when you get that second Mac, just for Time Machine backups across the network
    iCloud Storage - Makes sharing photos easy