Best Bluetooth mice for professional use?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by roksraka, May 29, 2013.

1. roksraka macrumors member

hello! i've been a user of the magic mouse for a few years now, and i must say that i'm satisfied with its performance when it comes to browsing the web etc.... but as an architecture student i spend countless hours working with CAD, 3D modelling tools, photoshop and such, and that's not really home turf for the magic mouse.
    do you know any good alternatives? i'd like it to have bluetooth, so i can have one usb port more, and maybe some extra programmable buttons to use for switching between desktops (spaces) or as the 'back' button in safari...i also need a middle click
    thank you! :)

2. mgipe macrumors demi-god

mgipe

This may not be the answer you're looking for, but have you considered getting a Wacom tablet to supplement the MagicMouse? You can set up the tablet buttons to do program specific tasks, and the precision and control of the stylus is extremely useful for the sorts of CAD and visual manipulation apps that you use. You would still use up a USB port, but that's easily remedied.

Take a look at the Intuos tablets, or the cheaper Bamboo Create.

3. mslide macrumors 6502a

My choice is the Logitech Performance MX. It's not bluetooth but that's what cheap USB hubs are for :)

4. thedeske macrumors 6502a

You're describing a Kensington Expert Mouse. Precision, speed and control. It's wired. Wireless is for people who don't really need precision.

5. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

2013 Razor Orochi is the best traditional buttoned Bluetooth mouse I've come across. It can also be used wired and I use it for circuit board CAD and 3D CAD. Better Touch Tools supports programming the additional 4 side buttons.

6. opinio macrumors 65816

What are you working with? Nano particles on an IMAX screen?

7. roksraka thread starter macrumors member