Best Browser for OS X Mountain Lion in 2016?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by redheeler, Jul 30, 2016.

  1. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #1
    A question for anyone with a Mac running Mountain Lion: What browser do you use?

    The reason I ask is I have an old late 2006 24" iMac running 10.8.5. Firefox, Chrome, Opera all give me issues. I primarily use Firefox but it's a memory hog and also fairly crash-happy. To make matters worse Firefox will drop support next year and the other two already have. Safari works but is old at this point and needs a Webkit update.
     
  2. logicstudiouser macrumors 6502

    logicstudiouser

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #2
    You really are stuck with one of the 'big 4' (Chrome, Firefox, Opera or Safari), unfortunately. Since Apple officially dropped Mountain Lion support last fall, software developers drop testing on older operating systems. This comes as more and more people upgrade their systems and the market left for mountain lion is niche.
    I work with wordpress a lot and my main mac runs on mountain lion still. My browser choice when I am plugged into a wall is Chrome, as I find it is best optimized for work on wordpress, but since it is such an energy drain, I prefer to just use it when I am plugged in.
    I agree, Firefox does crash often, but is still my surfing browser of choice. The more plugins you use, the more likely crashes will happen. I have minimized the number I have and I get less crashes.
     
  3. logicstudiouser macrumors 6502

    logicstudiouser

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #4
    @cyberish Thanks for the tip. Must have been living under a rock, never heard of this till now. :p
     
  4. redheeler thread starter macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    Glad I decided to visit this thread again because I must've missed your post the first time. Had no idea this project existed - thanks for posting!
     
  5. redheeler thread starter macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #6
    So this is something that really surprised me - all I had to do was change the minimum version string from 10.9 to 10.8.5 and Firefox ESR 52 runs fine! This means Mountain Lion will be able to run an updated browser into 2018!
    ESR52-10.8.5.png
     
  6. ypsi7267 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    #7
    Where do you change the minimum string?
     
  7. redheeler, Apr 30, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2017 at 12:06 PM

    redheeler thread starter macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #8
    Right-click on the application and click "Show Package Contents". Then in the Contents folder there will be an Info.plist file, open it with a text editor, find the string "10.9.0" and change to "10.8.5".
    --- Post Merged, Apr 30, 2017 ---
    Should look like this:
    LSMinimumSystemVersion-10.8.5.png

    Edit: Additional steps for Firefox 56, 57:

    If you try to run Firefox 56 or 57 on a Mountain Lion system just using the method above, you'll get nothing but crashed tabs. However, @GoopnyPants has posted a very simple fix to get it working perfectly.

    1. Go to about:config and accept the warning prompt.
    2. Paste autostart in the search bar.
    3. Change the setting highlighted below in my screenshot to false (as pictured):
    FF57-Fix.png
    4. Restart Firefox.
     
  8. ypsi7267 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    #9
    Thanks
    --- Post Merged, Apr 30, 2017 ---
    I did that. At first it wouldn't let me. Said t was locked. Copied it to the applicartions folder, edited it and it said the program was corrupted and said I had to delete it.
     
  9. cyberish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    #10
    Cool finding for FirefoxESR it workes like a charm even on 10.8.5 with MLPF 32bit Kernel
     
  10. ypsi7267 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    #11
    Okay, so I had to change the security settings to "Allow applications downloaded from Anywhere". Now it works.
     
  11. donjames macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Location:
    Henderson, Texas
    #12
    How do you change the security settings.?

    Thanks,

    Don James
     
  12. redheeler thread starter macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #13
    In System Preferences > Security & Privacy:
    Anywhere.png
     
  13. Stanick macrumors regular

    Stanick

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    #14
    The newly released Firefox 54 runs without a hitch on ML, just change the Minimum System version in info.plist to 10.8.0
     
  14. redheeler thread starter macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #15
    That's good to know, thanks. I've been sticking with ESR 52 on my 10.8.5 iMac just to be safe, just updated to 52.2.0 (updates have to be downloaded manually as the in-app updater says the system isn't supported and refuses to work).
     
  15. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #16
    Tried with 54.0.1, and it begins opening but I get a message saying the file is damaged and should be moved to the trash. :confused:

    Any other modifications besides changing 10.9.0 to 10.8.0 to do?

    EDIT: Yes, I am on 10.8.5, not 10.8.0.
     
  16. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    #17
    Open Terminal and type this:

    xattr -rd com.apple.quarantine (leaving a space at the end of quarantine)

    Then drag the app in question into the Terminal window ... then press enter/return.
     
  17. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #18
    It worked! Thanks!
     
  18. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
  19. KawaiiAurora, Jul 11, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2017

    KawaiiAurora macrumors 6502

    KawaiiAurora

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Location:
    Europa
    #20
    Hmm, Firefox 52,54 and 55 work on ML but I have an odd issue. WaterFox too

    When you first open FF, videos such as YT work just fine. Then, after reopening FF, it doesn't work. To get it to work, you have to refresh FF every time... Anyone else had this issue?

    EDIT: I went ahead and investigated some more and every version till FireFox 52 Beta 9 doesn't have the issue. FireFox 52 does have it tho..

    Any ideas?

    I have fixed it for ESR 52.. All I had to was to change "esr" to "beta" in the /Contents/Resources/defaults/pref/channel-prefs.js file. Quite an odd fix.. It doesn't work for FireFox 54 tho
     
  20. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #21
    I also have this problem in 54. I just use Safari for YT.
     
  21. KawaiiAurora macrumors 6502

    KawaiiAurora

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Location:
    Europa
    #22
    I simply use FireFox 52.2.1 ESR with my fix :)

    Mum uses it so browser switching isn't an option ;p
     
  22. danjrael macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
  23. philgxxd macrumors member

    philgxxd

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Location:
    Malaga, Spain
    #24
    Don't know but doesn't roccat just act like a different front-end for the systemwide installed WebKit framework?
     
  24. redheeler thread starter macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #25
    Trying out the latest version of Seamonkey, which will also run with the MinimumSystemVersion change. It's less resource-intensive compared to Firefox 52 on this Late 2006 iMac, so I might just make the switch over to it.
    Seamonkey-10.8.5.png
    That's right. The rendering engine is no more current than the one in the Mountain Lion version of Safari, because it is the one in the Mountain Lion version of Safari. Last updated in 2015.
     

Share This Page