Best Camera For Four Grand

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by X-JRO, Nov 2, 2009.

1. X-JRO macrumors member

I'm looking for the best video camera I can get my paws on for 4 thousand or under USD.

I've been looking at the Sony FX1 and the Canon HX A1 but the Sony seems like the smarter choice.

What can you guys recommend?

2. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

idea_hamster

3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

What kind of shooting are you going to be doing and do you already have the rest of the kit?

Lethal

4. puckhead193 macrumors G3

puckhead193

5. TH3D4RKKN1GH7 macrumors 6502a

TH3D4RKKN1GH7

Ever see Crank? ****** movie, didn't look too shabby considering it was shot on XHA1. I hear nothing but great things about that camera.

6. Gymnut macrumors 68000

Gymnut

7. X-JRO thread starter macrumors member

I don't have anything guys, I'm a total noob and am *just* starting out. I figure 4K is around good price for a 'pro-sumer' cam that I could do pseudo-pro work with.

8. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

Blindly dropping $4k on a camera isn't going to do much for you. My advice is to save the money and get a job or internship at a local post/post production company in your area, learn about this industry and then, if you still want to branch out on your own, you'll have a much better idea of what it takes to make a professional looking production.

Lethal

9. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

you're dumping all of money on the cam and ignoring other expensive aspects of pro video work like microphones and lighting.

10. X-JRO thread starter macrumors member

Woah, I'm not "dumping all of money", I never said 4K was my entire budget.

11. anthemus macrumors regular

anthemus

Don't hold your breath on the Red. Its been rumored to be released for the last 3 years.

When considering a camera you need to think of a few things:

Imager - 3CCD/3CMOS or DSLR Single CMOS/CCD Imager
    Audio - Balanced or Unbalanced (XLR or 1/8 stereo)